Today was the day! I got outside for a run, and man did it feel good! Let me tell you, I was like a horse chomping at the bit to be set free. Of course, it was freakishly cold out, and my arms felt like they were going to fall off within 5 miles of the run...that's nothing compared to the amazing feeling my new Izumi's gave me. Oh, I LOVE those shoes! My Mizuno's are nice too. Had my arms not gone into a numb state, I'm quite sure I could have run another 4 miles with NO problem.
Wait...I said I was taking this slow. Nice and easy. The run did feel easy. It felt rather effortless with an 8:04 pace per mile. Really, 8:04...I was expecting 8:15-8:30. I am rather pleased with my running at this point in my training. over 6miles in today, and I've already decided my treat twice a week is to get outside for a run (unless it's a really nice day and someone is nice enough to hang out with my boys so I can get out the door!!). I can't WAIT for some sunlight earlier in the day so I can start my morning runs again!
School starts again tomorrow! I'm definately not ready like I said I would be. All these glorious plans to have 2 weeks of lessons prepared over break have been a bunch of wind. That never happened! Here I am blogging while I could be planning. Ah, I rather like the last minute stuff! I don't call it procrastination. That word has such a negative vibe. I like to call it, "life on the fly."
My legs need a little break. I think I'll do free weights tomorrow and give the old legs a day off of running. MAYBE. I should be taking at least 2 days off a week at this point. I predict by March, I will up my mileage, with my long runs being 10-12 miles, and my short runs/workouts at 4-8 miles. By the end of April, hopefully I'll be looking at 12-15 miles for long runs! RACE SEASON IS UPON US!
Thought for the day: If you truly believe you can make great things happen in your life, TRULY believing and bringing positive behaviors and habits into your life, you WILL make great things happen, and great things will happen for you.
Sunday, January 2, 2011
Saturday, January 1, 2011
Ring in the New Year!
I started the new year by sleeping in a bit. After hearing the dogs WHINE like crazy, I figured...I'll feed them, take them out, and go BACK TO BED!! Well, that's what I did! I suppose I woke up around 8:40 (I think so, but I didn't check). After reading for a while, I got up and started CLEANING THE HOUSE! Oh, this post is so exciting. Hold on to your seats, folks! No, really. Life is boring when you're on vacation unless you're actually ON a vacation somewhere exciting.
Instead of thinking vacation is boring, from now on, I'm going to picture myself somewhere exotic (getting the house cleaned, floors vacuumed, and laundry done of course). That's going to help take the raw edge off the mundane everyday tasks!
I just finished a 4 mile run on the treadmill. Way to ring in the new year! I had just enough motivation to muster up 3 miles, but pushed myself to keep going another mile. I'm HOPING to get outside for a run tomorrow! See, something to look forward to! Peace out!
Thought for the day: Take a vacation in your mind. It's free, you don't have to grip a barf bag, and the only way to get into trouble is if it's on the clock!
Instead of thinking vacation is boring, from now on, I'm going to picture myself somewhere exotic (getting the house cleaned, floors vacuumed, and laundry done of course). That's going to help take the raw edge off the mundane everyday tasks!
I just finished a 4 mile run on the treadmill. Way to ring in the new year! I had just enough motivation to muster up 3 miles, but pushed myself to keep going another mile. I'm HOPING to get outside for a run tomorrow! See, something to look forward to! Peace out!
Thought for the day: Take a vacation in your mind. It's free, you don't have to grip a barf bag, and the only way to get into trouble is if it's on the clock!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)