Monday, June 29, 2009

New Training Plan

Thanks to my brother, Tony, I have a new training plan! I wasn't "cutting the mustard" with my crazy (foolish, perhaps) running program. This week looks pretty nice. I have to admit...my knee is still bothering me, but I'm trying to stretch and eat right, and keep moving gently (no pounding on my legs).

Here's what the plan for the week looks like:
Mon.- 3 miles easy
Tue.- Off
Wed.- 6 miles easy
Thu.- 3 miles easy
Fri.- 5 miles (8x100 strides)
Sat.- 3 miles easy
Sun.- 9 miles

As long as my knee doesn't snap on me, I'll be able to do all of this, this week! It's good to be back.

In other news, I have 3 classes (summer courses) now overlapping each other. I am getting a bit fried on school, and hoping I get through these courses and actually take information away with me! Maybe fall won't be so crazy....yeah, it will!!

Thought for the day: Embrace silence.

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Failed Attempt

This was the day I planned on starting up again. I got out the door and Randy and I were going to run around the lake once.

I guess my legs had other plans...

Once we began the downhill descent on 85th Avenue, the back of my left knee started pulling and I was experiencing sharp pains. I told Randy to keep going, I couldn't go any further. I shamefully walked back up the hill and made my way home.

Okay, so today isn't the day. I iced as soon as I got back into the house, and we'll see where I'm at tomorrow. Man, if I'm injured, this doesn't look so good. I don't want to fall apart. I just got back into running.

On a brighter note...classes are going well. Today I plan on getting at LEAST 3-4 assignments done for my tech class. What will I do when I no longer have school?? Honestly, I can't WAIT to find out!

Thought for the day: From the words of the great inspirational guru, Dr. Wayne Dyer, "Being passionate means taking risks. No one ever fails at anything. Everything you do produces a result."

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Nothing Going On Here...

Well, it's Tuesday. I haven't run since Saturday (the half marathon). My body needed the break. I was having trouble up until last night, just getting up and down the stairs. It's important to listen to your body; and when it says it's hurting, don't kick it into a gear it's not ready for.

I may still run today. The weather is still hot and humid, so if I go, it will be later today (7 maybe 8pm).

I just found out I won a scholarship for this coming year of school! It's not a BIG one, but it's $960 for the year, and that helps out A LOT! What a nice feeling, after applying for 7 different scholarships, that I would earn one! I am quite pleased!

My Placed Based Science and Technology courses are in full swing. I have a major project I'm working on for Place Based Science, and finishing assignments for my Tech. course. I have until the end of July to finish Tech, but I will do my best to complete it by mid-July!

Thought for the day: I have a feeling it's going to be hot today...again...

Saturday, June 20, 2009

Grandma's HEAT....

Friday, I ran 3 miles early morning. It was nice and easy and I didn't time myself just for that reason!

Saturday was the big day. I had been looking forward to this run for the last few months. Shelley, Kevin, and I woke up at 4am to get ready for the shuttle to the starting line! The weather right away this morning was a bit muggy. My legs were achy and my knees were sore. Tony was right though, when that gun went off (we couldn't hear it, as we were about 4,000 people back from the starting line), the pain just seemed to dissapear. The big problem was the heat and humidity. I weaved on and off the road to pass people, as I had lots of catch up to do if I wanted to finish at a reasonable place! The weaving and running quite quick the first 3-4 miles was pretty exciting and fun! I was fast and furious! Then, the heat started getting to me. Along with the heat, my legs felt really tired and heavy.

Let's just say this...I had fun, I'm glad I finished. Way to go Shelley and Kevin!!! What a great day (other than the tough run!)

Thought for the day: Running is fun!

(Oh, I ran 1 hour 52 minutes, not a p.r. but it was a race I am SO glad I ran!)

Thursday, June 18, 2009

Food Facts

Today is a 0 day for me. No miles, but unfortunately I have been moving around the house more than usual today with laundry, vacuuming, sweeping, cleaning rooms and bathrooms, and doing dishes! PHEW, not to mention spending time with the boys and the dogs!

Since I didn't run today, I have some really cool information I got off of www.runnersworld.com

Foods that help aid in recovery and repair: (or if you're just plain TIRED)
*Red Bell Peppers
*Papaya
*Salmon
*Carrots
*Whole grain cereals (be careful not to take in TOO much zinc)
*Almonds
*Avacados
*Spinach
*Dried apricots
*Walnuts
*Canteloupe
*Oranges

Well, this is most of the list! I figure it's stuff that's easy to find and purchase, and if Runner's World says it's good...WELL, it MUST be!!

Thought for the day: Anticipation isn't always good. Sometimes we make things bigger and better in our mind, and it lets us down in the end.

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Easy Does It

I went out this morning for a nice easy jog around the lake. The weather was nice...not too warm, not too cold. As I approached the infamous grey house (the house that had the giant dog run (with, after, you insert word here) me several times before had the giant dog out again. This time, a tiny pug type dog was barking along side him. As the large dog veered back onto his lawn, the small crazy dog shot after me, nipping at my heels (LITERALLY!). I turned around, stopped, and said many times over, GO HOME. The dumb little dog kept at me (even as I was at a stand still). SO....long story short, the thing finally went home after I threw some gentle obsenities at it and I was able to go on with my run around the lake.

I can't say I was upset by this. It is so typical to see pet owners leaving their dogs out without leashes or supervision. I'm sure even if they heard me (the pet owners), they don't really care. I can see them sitting around the living room, saying to each other, "I don't know why people are out there running anyway, pass me another bud." (Okay, maybe not, I guess I'm a little upset about this afterall!)

Total today, 4 miles. I did this in 33 minutes and a few odd seconds. I'm pleased with my run today, and getting really excited for what is to come this Saturday. I don't mean to build this race up so much. If you want to check back on Sunday night, I'll have my results posted. If I get even CLOSE to 700th place overall, that would be amazing! Here's to three digits!!!!

Thought for the day: I read a story today about an 18 year old runner who died during a training run. He was out in the heat (major heat and humidity), and though he was used to being out in the summer heat, this run was his last. It's important to listen to your body. It's also important to run at the coolest time of the day, if possible.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Falling apart

Listen, I'm trying to be positive here. I'm trying to think good thoughts and be ready for this race on Saturday. But the fact is, I feel like I'm falling apart. My body aches (again, not sharp pains, just dull aching in my legs), and todays run was 3.5 miles at about 8:36 pace. I felt okay, but just not as good as I should have going at such a nice easy pace.

At the end of my run, heading up the hill on 85th, I felt like I couldn't keep my breath steady and I thought I was going to pass out. I wasn't even running hard. Now I'm a bit concerned. I just don't feel right. Maybe it's nerves...maybe something worse...I don't know.

All I know, is if my legs don't feel normal by Friday, I won't have a very good race. Any suggestions?

Thought for the day: Being sore is a pain!

Monday, June 15, 2009

Day OFF!

I'm quite sure my little muscles are thanking me for the day off today. After all, I had to fit in two runs yesterday to make the mileage I wanted and this is taper week. (run less, stay healthy for the race on Sat.)

It's hot in the house today. Right now it feels 85 degrees in here. I'm sweating just typing this post!

My legs are sore (just a dull sort of sore), but as with all the other days I've felt like this, I choose not to take anything for the pain. I know this is part of the healing process from my overworked running regime! Thankfully, after Saturday, I'm going to focus on just packing on miles and not even worry about times. Not until August or September.

What a day. Hopefully tomorrow will bring a nice relaxing 4 mile run, with little effort! Wednesday I'm looking forward to a 7 mile easy run, and thursday I won't run at all. I have to leave for Duluth on Friday morning, so before I leave, I'll do 3 easy miles and head out with the boys! Just writing this is making me nervous! Hope that's a good thing!

Thought for the day: If you could turn back time, would you change your path...or do you appreciate the fact that the path you took (tulmultuous as it was at times) was the path that led you to where and who you are today!?

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Heat(her) and humidity...

I chose to run today after Randy returned from golfing. Yes, I could have gotten up at 6am and run my hour run today, but I decided to sleep in...

At about 10:55 I ventured out on my run. I was planning an hour run, at about 8:30 pace. Instead, the humidity was so bad, I only made it halfway to my goal. On top of that; traffic was SO bad, I was literally dodging cars, and speeding up the pace (I wasn't intentionally doing that).

This late morning run amounted to about 3.7/3.8 miles in about 30 minutes.

Later (this evening perhaps), I'll run another 30 minutes. Hopefully at a slower pace and with better weather conditions. I know it's not the best idea to be doing 2 runs in a day so close to race time, but I'm not doing any speed workouts (not trying to at least!!).

Less than 6 days from now I'll be doing my first HUGE race EVER! 4500 people are running this year in the Gary Bjorklund half marathon in Duluth! I'm scared and pumped all at the same time! My twin brother is running Grandma's marathon. My hope is to cross the line before T does! Wish me luck!

At about 7pm, Randy took the boys to the Dresser basketball court. I told him I would run there, and meet them. It was nice to get some more easy miles in today, especially since I had to cut the morning run short. The heat wasn't so bad, but it was really humid, and I took advantage of Randy's water belt (I wore it, but it bugged me, because it kept creeping up on me during the run...ANNOYING!!)

My mileage tonight was 4.8 miles at a really easy pace (mind you, there are LOTS of hills on this run, so I took extra care in not pushing myself too hard!). Total time tonight, 40 minutes and 44 seconds.

Total run mileage for the day: 8.5 miles.


Thought for the day: I just heard of this place called the heart attack cafe. A quadruple bypass burger is four layers of burgers, 8 slices of cheese, a whole tomato, onions, and a bun COMPLETELY dipped in boiling lard. NOT KIDDING. I think the man (correspondant) said it has over 7000 calories. He ate the WHOLE thing. Just think about it....


Saturday, June 13, 2009

Foggy Morning Run

Well, it's exactly one week to the half marathon. So, I guess you could say my running is turning into more of a jog. (I'm trying really hard to run EASY).

I ran to M and back home, which is a little over 3 miles. Hoping to keep the miles lower than usual, I decided 3 miles will do for today. Tomorrow I may run 6 to 7 easy miles (depending on how I feel). Speaking of how I feel...I still feel sore (dull pain) and have trouble sleeping at night. This needs to end or I'll be napping all day...yesterday I didn't get out for a run, but I had sort of planned it that way. I did a lot of working out and stretching. I napped a lot yesterday too. That's what happens when you never really hit deep REM at night.

Today I'll be cleaning the house. My 8 hour class was cancelled because our professor had to go somewhere on business, so I'm home all day!! I figure I'll get quite a bit of exercise just getting this place in tip top shape! I love a clean house!

Homework...oh, yeah, I have that to do too. I'll work that in somewhere. Though I'm a bit uninspired due to the fact that I don't understand WHAT I'm supposed to be doing, or HOW to do it. (It's a technology course...)

Thought for the day: Listen to your body. It often speaks louder than words (or even Billy Mays)....maybe.

Thursday, June 11, 2009

What's the pain worth?

I didn't sleep much last night. This has been nothing new for the past few weeks, but I'm just now complaining about it. My body aches. These aches aren't HORRIBLE, just dull aching all over keeping me awake and waking me in my sleep. I KNOW I'm training a bit too hard, I've already addressed this. But now I'm back on "track" (hee hee!).

After yesterday's run, I made the decision to run really easy today, and really short. I went 3 miles at an 8:30 pace...this is really easy for me to do (pretty great considering it was really hard 3 months ago, so I must be doing SOMETHING right!) The run was fine, my muscles are feeling better, and I'm hoping for another short easy run tomorrow before Randy goes in to work (or possibly, after he gets home).

I'm going to have a good race next weekend. I can't say it will be record setting, or that I'll even accomplish a time I would set as a goal, but there are some things we can't control, and I'm just hoping the training I've done will pay off in this race, and of course, in the future of my racing.

This begs the question to my THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: What is the pain truly worth? If the pain is worth doing your best in a single race, or worth the glory of a single win (if that could ever happen), then it wouldn't be worth it to me. I'm back into running for the long haul. I have been reminded that it's not instantaneous (getting back into shape...much less racing shape). So, what is the pain worth?? A good pain (one that goes away shortly after occurance- or a pain that is under a 4 on a scale from 1-10) is a gentle reminder that your body is getting stronger...that's okay with me. That's worth all the consistent running and smart training I'm doing. I'll pass on the bad pain.

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Easy Runs are always more fun!

Randy and I ran the "Dresser Run" this morning. We made a deal that he would be the pace setter (that's a man for ya'!). I was okay running a 9min./mile pace today, as I have said in previous posts- I have been over-doing it on my runs lately.

This was a beautiful, hilly run. I had the best time ever. I wasn't huffing and puffing to keep on pace, and it was pretty consistent (even with the big hills). At about 8 miles into my 10 mile run, the area below my knee started to pull and tighten, and it was hurting. I thought it was maybe because I had such a short stride on this run, and I tried lengthening my stride to see if that helped. Then at about 8.5 miles in, (I think...) we went up the GIANT hill. Going up it at a decent clip actually helped my knee. Then at 9 miles I took off and ran a really nice final mile. I didn't time it, but it felt great, and I felt great. I was running fast, and I wasn't breathing hard...until I got to our hill (85th Ave. hill). I pushed up the hill as hard as I could and finished strong.

Nice run. I would have gone 12 today, but because of my knee, I wasn't quite sure. I feel really good going a nice easy 9 and a strong last mile to give me 10 for the day!

Thought for the day: I'm not sure of anything, except that life is quite uncertain!

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Workout Day

No running today. Yesterday was a nice wake-up call from my body, asking me to please slow it down a little. I won't be ready for my half marathon (which is now just 11 days away) if I try to hammer out my easy runs.

I worked out in the "gym" in our lower level for about a half hour to 45 min. I made sure to work on my hamstrings and my arms/shoulders in particular (but my quads and abs and calves got quite a workout as well). Overall, nice workout! 0 miles today, but tomorrow is supposed to be my LONG run.

Randy has only one more day of vacation. It's been nice to have him home, and we got lots of outside work done and some good bowling in the last couple of days! I'm a terrible bowler. No worries, it was all in fun!

I'm getting a bit nervous thinking about the best possible training for the next 10 days. I'm going to go read my Runner's World and figure it out!

Thought for the day: Stouffers Lasagna really ISN'T that good...no matter what Randy says.

Monday, June 8, 2009

Slow and Steady doesn't win ANY races...

SO...today I decided to take it easy on my run. I went 5.5 miles and wanted to run from 8:30 to 9 min pace. Well, I didn't take a watch with me on the run, so I'm not sure about my pace. But I know that I ran pretty easy. My pace was slower than usual, but I really felt awful. It was that achy leg feeling, side stitch kind of run. One of those runs where you wonder why in the world you went out at all. But then I remembered...LOG THE MILES.

Last night I thought about all the reasons I got back into running. I thought about why I didn't try or train harder when I was younger (high school and college). I realized I hate the idea of preparation. This may also be why I don't like to cook. I don't like the preparation part. This probably was why I wasn't so great in school in my earlier years...I didn't like having to do the homework, or prepare for tests. This wasn't an epiphiny by any means, but it helped me to break through the wall I created years ago. Well, I must have already broken through it when I went back to school and worked so hard to do well...and now that I'm back into running, and running consistently, I have broken the wall even more.

I'm happy that I'm at where I'm at right now, at this point in my life. I'm proud of what I'm becoming and what I've already become. I'm stronger now than I was 12 years ago, maybe not physically, but I know that I will be.

Thought for the day: Good runs, aren't always the fast ones.

Sunday, June 7, 2009

BODY ACHING!

OUCH...

I took two days off. Was that supposed to help me? Usually a little time off helps keep you fresh. NOT FOR ME! Today's run was brutal. I ran 7.07 miles in 56 min. 51 sec. That was a 8:02 avg. pace.

So the pace was pretty good. I felt like absolute junk. My body ached, and I had that "out of shape runner's breathing" going on. But enough complaining. It's time to find out WHY I felt like this after two days off of running. After all, one should not have to run every single day of the week (especially since I'm in my first year back after eons off).

Next step...More water, more dark green veggies, and more high rep, low weight workouts.


Thought for the day: When big obstacles keep you from going from point A to point B, learn to steeplechase!

Thursday, June 4, 2009

Recovery run

This morning Randy and I went for a recovery run around the lake. It felt nice to go for 3.57 miles at an easy pace. We finished the run in a little over 9 minute mile pace (he told me he was setting the pace today, and I was fine with that!)

I'm planning another run around the lake tonight by myself. I'm going to run at my recovery pace which is about 8:30/mi. It should be a nice night for running!

Today's total= ________7 miles (well, just a TAD over 7)

My evening run was probably too fast for my recovery run. I ended up running 8:03 pace for 3.6 miles. I wanted to stay around 8:30 pace but maybe this was fine since I felt fine. I am definately feeling defeated by the heat (I think I run faster when it's hot just to get done sooner and OUT of the heat). Nice night for running??? Sure, if you like heat stroke weather. I am DEFINATELY a wimp when it comes to the heat. I can't stand it. But I'm happy I got out for an evening run.

Tomorrow....HILLS!!

Thought for the day: When in doubt...think.

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Good Morning LONG run!

This morning I went out around the lake a few times, then went an extra mile. I figure this was about 11-12 miles total. Not sure though, because RANDY took the Garmin on HIS run...

I don't have a lot of time to complain about that, as I have to get to the Osceola Elementary School and work the Track and Field Days events.

I do have to say, though, that my pace was pretty consistent, I felt good (except the right side of my groin still had a dull pain through my run), and I could tell my knees were hard at work pushing me through the long run today. All in all, it was a nice morning for a long run.

Tomorrow, I would LOVE to do a track workout...but I don't know if I should. Hoping for some advice, but I was thinking 400 repeats with an 800 rest in between? Not sure yet. I'll think about that tonight!

Thought for the day: If you ask, you may receive...but be careful what you wish for...you just might get it!

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Enjoyable Run

This morning, Randy and I went for an early morning run (okay, not THAT early) a little before 8am. I didn't want to do the same old, same old run, so we went halfway around the lake and past Dwight Lake Beach. I had never run over there before and there were some pretty nice little hills. Usually when I just run around horse lake, there are NO hills, except on the road back to our house.

It was an easy going 4.75 mile run today. I pushed up the hills a bit and worked on getting my stride and my form back. Overall, quite enjoyable!

Thought for the day: When you like what you do, happiness follows!