Monday, June 8, 2009

Slow and Steady doesn't win ANY races...

SO...today I decided to take it easy on my run. I went 5.5 miles and wanted to run from 8:30 to 9 min pace. Well, I didn't take a watch with me on the run, so I'm not sure about my pace. But I know that I ran pretty easy. My pace was slower than usual, but I really felt awful. It was that achy leg feeling, side stitch kind of run. One of those runs where you wonder why in the world you went out at all. But then I remembered...LOG THE MILES.

Last night I thought about all the reasons I got back into running. I thought about why I didn't try or train harder when I was younger (high school and college). I realized I hate the idea of preparation. This may also be why I don't like to cook. I don't like the preparation part. This probably was why I wasn't so great in school in my earlier years...I didn't like having to do the homework, or prepare for tests. This wasn't an epiphiny by any means, but it helped me to break through the wall I created years ago. Well, I must have already broken through it when I went back to school and worked so hard to do well...and now that I'm back into running, and running consistently, I have broken the wall even more.

I'm happy that I'm at where I'm at right now, at this point in my life. I'm proud of what I'm becoming and what I've already become. I'm stronger now than I was 12 years ago, maybe not physically, but I know that I will be.

Thought for the day: Good runs, aren't always the fast ones.

No comments:

Post a Comment