Randy and I ran the "Dresser Run" this morning. We made a deal that he would be the pace setter (that's a man for ya'!). I was okay running a 9min./mile pace today, as I have said in previous posts- I have been over-doing it on my runs lately.
This was a beautiful, hilly run. I had the best time ever. I wasn't huffing and puffing to keep on pace, and it was pretty consistent (even with the big hills). At about 8 miles into my 10 mile run, the area below my knee started to pull and tighten, and it was hurting. I thought it was maybe because I had such a short stride on this run, and I tried lengthening my stride to see if that helped. Then at about 8.5 miles in, (I think...) we went up the GIANT hill. Going up it at a decent clip actually helped my knee. Then at 9 miles I took off and ran a really nice final mile. I didn't time it, but it felt great, and I felt great. I was running fast, and I wasn't breathing hard...until I got to our hill (85th Ave. hill). I pushed up the hill as hard as I could and finished strong.
Nice run. I would have gone 12 today, but because of my knee, I wasn't quite sure. I feel really good going a nice easy 9 and a strong last mile to give me 10 for the day!
Thought for the day: I'm not sure of anything, except that life is quite uncertain!
No comments:
Post a Comment