I chose to run today after Randy returned from golfing. Yes, I could have gotten up at 6am and run my hour run today, but I decided to sleep in...
At about 10:55 I ventured out on my run. I was planning an hour run, at about 8:30 pace. Instead, the humidity was so bad, I only made it halfway to my goal. On top of that; traffic was SO bad, I was literally dodging cars, and speeding up the pace (I wasn't intentionally doing that).
This late morning run amounted to about 3.7/3.8 miles in about 30 minutes.
Later (this evening perhaps), I'll run another 30 minutes. Hopefully at a slower pace and with better weather conditions. I know it's not the best idea to be doing 2 runs in a day so close to race time, but I'm not doing any speed workouts (not trying to at least!!).
Less than 6 days from now I'll be doing my first HUGE race EVER! 4500 people are running this year in the Gary Bjorklund half marathon in Duluth! I'm scared and pumped all at the same time! My twin brother is running Grandma's marathon. My hope is to cross the line before T does! Wish me luck!
At about 7pm, Randy took the boys to the Dresser basketball court. I told him I would run there, and meet them. It was nice to get some more easy miles in today, especially since I had to cut the morning run short. The heat wasn't so bad, but it was really humid, and I took advantage of Randy's water belt (I wore it, but it bugged me, because it kept creeping up on me during the run...ANNOYING!!)
My mileage tonight was 4.8 miles at a really easy pace (mind you, there are LOTS of hills on this run, so I took extra care in not pushing myself too hard!). Total time tonight, 40 minutes and 44 seconds.
Total run mileage for the day: 8.5 miles.
Thought for the day: I just heard of this place called the heart attack cafe. A quadruple bypass burger is four layers of burgers, 8 slices of cheese, a whole tomato, onions, and a bun COMPLETELY dipped in boiling lard. NOT KIDDING. I think the man (correspondant) said it has over 7000 calories. He ate the WHOLE thing. Just think about it....
The burger sounds great, although no onions and skip the lard! Is the cafe close to your place?
ReplyDelete