Friday, July 17, 2009

5 and Strides

After just 5.5 hours of sleep last night (rough night...homework HAD to get done), I finally woke at 5:55am. Randy has to leave for work by 7:30, and I would try to be out the door for my 5 miles + 8x100 strides by 6:15. When all was said and done, I yawned as I exited the door at about 6:35am.

I honestly thought the lack of sleep would hamper my running. It wasn't so bad. Even with sore muscles after Wednesdays workout, I was still able to pull through with an under 8 min. pace per mile for this run. I did want it to hurt a bit, because after my 5 miles, I wanted to go right into my strides feeling tired. It worked! The strides felt great. I always have room for strides. I liken them to dessert...no matter HOW much you eat (or in my childrens case...how much you say you ate) you always have room for dessert!

So, time for the 5 mile run= 39:15. I didn't time my strides. I just counted in my head to 20 to get as close as I could to 100 meters every time.

Tomorrow I have off. I'll be getting housework and homework done, and of course, spending time with my two little guys (no, T, not the pups...though they will get hugged). Sunday, I plan on waking up pretty early to put 11 miles in. It's not the miles that bother me, it's the crack of dawn...but I digress...It all serves a greater purpose!

Thought for the day: When will it RAIN again? This is crazy. I'm studying Australia right now, and feel right at home...minus the kangaroos and wallabees.

No comments:

Post a Comment