Friday, July 3, 2009

Hoots and Hollers....

Just a word to those who don't already know and follow this unwritten rule...Nice people do NOT mock runners. Okay, that was 6 words. I was on my run (starting at 5:50 this morning). I figured it would be a nice quiet run. I even considered NOT wearing my ipod, so I could focus on the run and the magical surroundings.

Good thing I had my ear buds in. Some people in a pontoon on the lake were making loud noises at me, yelling things at me, laughing, and then whistling. What is even worse, it seemed as if they were "following" me around the lake during my run. I finished up the run (after my 5 miles were done), with 8x100 strides. It really felt GREAT to get my legs to lengthen and move so fluidly. I wish I could run like that ALL the time!!!

Other than that, I felt really great on my run. Today was not to be an "ez" day, so I did push the pace a bit harder (without feeling drained). 5 miles at 8:10 pace= 40 min. 52 sec. I'll do a lot of stretching today and maybe later, some yoga. I think that will help in the long run (along with a multitude of good food/eating habits) to keep me injury free.

Thought for the day: Treat others as you would like to be treated. As well, think before you act.

No comments:

Post a Comment