Friday, July 24, 2009

Lightning and Thunder...

I waited to go out for my run today. Right off the bat, I figured I would only get 6-7 miles in, because I didn't want Randy to be late for work. I waited until the rain stopped pouring down, and took off out the door at 6:17am.

The first half of the run was nice and breezy with lots of humidity. As I turned the corner on Cty. Rd M for my second time around the lake- the sky turned all sorts of shades of grey. It was an eerie feeling coming off of M onto the lakeside. I knew I'd have lots of tree line coming my way, and was hoping for NO LIGHTNING!! My comfortable 8:20 pace turned into 7 minute pace when I heard the first rumble of thunder and the cracks of lightning.

At that point, I was just hoping to make it home before the downpour and lightning strikes started. Yes, I ran pretty fast for my last 2 miles, but I had to get going! I saw a van drive slowly by me, as if to gawk at the silly runner out in a thunderstorm. When all was said and done, I ran 7.1 miles today (at ave. 7:55/mile pace), and got in the door JUST before the downpour. It was a good idea to take that extra mile off today. Maybe I'll add another mile to tomorrow's run...maybe not. Whatever is the case; I will NOT be running during thunderstorms. It was cool when I was in college; but it's not so cool when you're a mom with big time responsibilities!

Thought for the day: My Australia course assignments are coming back graded. I'm not doing as well as I had hoped...epecially since I've really gotten into the class. I still love it. I'm still going someday!

No comments:

Post a Comment