So I guess I'm up to my eyeballs in homework. It's just that the motivation to keep up with all this work, being a mom (of course), and running and working out is just starting to wither. I want to be motivated to do all the things I need to do, but in reality...I just want to sleep. I want to curl up under the covers (even if it's 100 degrees out) and just sleep. It's not that I don't love that I have so much going for me right now. It's just the balancing act that gives me grief.
Today was a VERY easy 3 miles. When I say, EASY, I mean it. I ran 3 miles in about 26-27 minutes (didn't bring the watch), but that's like 8:45-9min. pace. I felt fine. I was able to really concentrate on being in the moment. I still feel frazzled, though.
Tomorrow I'm taking the day off. Not because I'm tired, but because it's in my training plan. I'll get some much needed homework done (if I can muster some motivation). How long have I been in school without a BREAK? I've been in school without a break since 2007. That doesn't seem like much, but that's two summers now without vacation. Next summer is my last summer of classes for UWRF. I think I have 2 summer classes (as opposed to the 4 this summer), then I'm a graduate (we all hope!)
Motivation is not really as easy as just saying, "I can do this..." It's more internal than that. Motivation comes from the intrinsic drive to accomplish something. I tend to be an extrinsic person. I like the results. I like the feeling of accomplishing something for the sheer joy of the accomplishment. Right now, I could be working really hard at my Science portfolio, or my Australian Studies work, or even finishing the last 2 assignments for my tech. class. But here I am...rambling on....
Thought for the day: If you give a moose a muffin, he'll probably want some jam to go with it...
No comments:
Post a Comment