I wanted to run today. I felt so lazy for not getting out there. But my "coach" says I need a rest once or twice a week, and I'm going to listen!
I took today off. Honestly, I did NOTHING today....
Yesterday I ran a very easy VERY relaxed 3 miles. My intention is to be able to run fast for longer periods of time by next spring/summer. This year is all about conditioning. I didn't even time my run yesterday, knowing that it wouldn't matter, as long as I felt relaxed and controlled during my easy run.
Tomorrow is another story. It won't be a relaxing run, I may be a bit out of control. I have to do a 7 mile progression run, which I am a bit nervous about, as I haven't (to this point) pushed myself outside of the comfort zone for more than a couple of miles (and even then, it wasn't that fast). Tomorrow I'll do my first mile easy, then for the next 5 miles, I'm going to see what I'm made of.
If we make it in the 10 mile run (lottery pick), for October's TC Marathon, I would like to be able to run at anywhere from 7:10-7:40 mile pace. This seems far fetched, but also why I'm so devoted to keeping on "track" with my training. If I don't make it into the race, I guess I'll have to find another run, but I've been really hoping to do this 10 miler.
So, for now, I'll preocuppy myself with thoughts of fast legs and a strong healthy heart. Those two can keep me going.
Thought for the day: I'm not in it for the fame or fortune, I'm in it to be the very best.
No comments:
Post a Comment