I waited until Randy got done with his morning run (I needed the watch). When he FINALLY got back (close to 10am)- I was ready to leave for my track workout. I had to bring the boys with, because Randy ended up having to work today. Well, it was either going to be a DISASTEROUS workout, or just plain HOT AND HUMID (I generally don't run at this time of day because of that). Well, long story short...it was not disasterous (the boys were SOOOOO good), but it WAS hot and humid. BIG TIME!!
I ran the 2 mile warmup, and it was nice and relaxed, around 8:45 pace, then got into my workout. After the 3rd lap (the 3rd fast lap), the humidity was really getting to me. At that point, I decided to work at doing consistent 4th, 5th, and 6th fast laps.
After my 6 (well, 12...) laps were done, I chose to do just a one mile cooldown. It was so humid out, it brought back Grandma's Marathon (Garry Bjorklund) Day flashbacks in my mind. I made a good choice just going one more mile. The boys were fine, but I couldn't handle another mile in that heat and humidity.
Total today, instead of 7 miles, was 6 miles. That's okay. I felt like I had a very good effort for my first track workout. My recovery laps were not terribly fast, but as well, they weren't terribly slow!
2 mile warmup
Lap 1- 1:34
Recovery lap
Lap 2- 1:42
Recovery lap
Lap 3- 1:42
Recovery lap
Lap 4- 1:36
Recovery lap
Lap 5- 1:38
Recovery lap
Lap 6- 1:37
Recovery lap
1 mile cooldown
Thought for the day: Ask me today what you want done tomorrow. It's just so much easier to procrastinate that way!
Nice workout. Keep on the plan, you're doing great!
ReplyDelete