Saturday, November 28, 2009

Welcome back!

Yes, I am welcoming myself back to the blogspot after a 2 month break from it! You know, it's been said taking a break is usually a good thing!

I figured I better keep track of my running over the winter, because I'm not very good at keeping paper journals or logs (I have WAY too many notebooks to keep track of for school).

This week has been tough. With sick kids coming to school so they don't have to miss out on the Thanksgiving party and festivities, I have been exposed to all sorts of germs and viruses. I haven't been feeling my best, but I still ran today. From now on, I'm going to try 3 days a week on the treadmill and 2 days a week of long runs outside.

Today, 4 miles on the treadmill at an average 4-5 percent incline. OUCH! I ran the last 15 minutes at a very very easy jog at a 6 percent incline. Tomorrow is Sunday, I hope to get a nice OUTDOOR run in, even if it isn't super long. I just want to feel the breeze again!

Thought for the day: I am dedicated, foolish, and stubborn. There isn't anything I'd rather be!

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Tough Run

I did it...I went out 12 miles today. After being sick all last week and having knee issues (and overall joint soreness) this week, I made it through a 12 miler! It was not an easy run, let me tell you! Running at an 8:40 pace is usually very enjoyable and relaxing. Today, running an 8:48 pace was rough. For the first 8 miles, I felt fine. I didn't intend to go faster than an 8:40 pace today anyway. The last 4 miles left me feeling completely drained. When I reached the base of 85th Avenue (at the base of the hill), I knew I was close to finishing. Getting up that hill felt like I was going in slow motion (well, I probably was!)

With that said, I finished! Now, hopefully for the next two weeks, I can follow my training plan, and get ready for the BIG DAY!!

Thought for the day: Sometimes life gets in the way of what you plan on doing. Most of the time, life isn't wrong.

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Still Here

Okay, it has been almost 3 weeks since my last post. Unfortunately, I've been really busy with school, work, and home. I realized two weeks ago, I took on more than I could handle. Here I am, still taking 14 credits, working full time, and last time I checked, I still have a house, a husband, and two kids to take care of. Oh, running...yeah, I have that too. I just haven't been running as much as I would like.

Last week I was really feeling ill. I took most of the week off due to my barely being able to get out of the bed in the morning. How did I make it through the days without dropping?

I have been running, but I'm not logging my miles like I should be. I was really looking forward to running an excellent track workout on Wednesday night, but that was cut short by massive knee pain (which this time around, I was NOT going to try to run through). It's Saturday night, and I still have an achy knee. But I will be running tomorrow morning. Maybe I won't make it the whole 12 miles, but I'll try. The important thing is to be able to be healthy for the TC 10 miler on October 4. I realized I haven't been stretching before or after my runs (my morning runs before work) because I just can't fit in an after run stretch. Honestly...now it's still dark until 6:20 in the morning. This means my early morning runs have to be shorter (just to get back in time to get ready for my day). I'm okay with this. I have my Wednesdays and Sundays to get quality runs in. From now on, I'm going to try to stretch, even if it means stretching while I eat breakfast (if I have time to eat!!)

No complaining here, though. I'm lucky to be where I'm at, and have such a great life! I'm happy that my plate is full! If only I could have just one more hour of daylight in the morning, life would be about perfect!

Thought for the day: Happiness leads to success.

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Sunday morning bliss

What a wonderful run today! I ran 9 miles at an 8:15 pace. It should have felt hard for how I've been feeling lately, but it was a nice easy pace today.

Mile one was 8:15, mile two: 8:05, mile three: 8:18, mile 4: 8:17, at mile 5 I had to stop to go to the bathroom...TMI, I know, but this has NEVER happened on a lake run before (or any other run for that matter). I won't say where I "pulled over to pee" or go into any more detail about it, but my mile 5 was pretty fast considering the "stop" at 8:18. Mile 6: 8:15, mile 7: 8:20, and 8:20 at mile 8, then my final mile was 8:11.

Total for this week: 25 miles. (I took Thursday off, which was to be my 5 mile day. I can forsee this happening a few more times prior to race day on Oct. 4. I really have to get off this blog and get started with some online homework!)

Thought for the day: Why do we waste our time worrying about the things we cannot change? Worry has never solved any problems, and it never will.

Saturday, August 29, 2009

Saturday, in the Park...

I took a couple of well deserved days off. I have to admit I'm a bit stressed out right now, but things will get better once I get used to the new schedule of running, working, and going to school, then of course my most important job of keeping the house and family taken care of!

Today, I ran a 2 mile wmup, with a 3 mile race pace, then a one mile cooldown. Here are my times...

Miles one and two: 8:20 and 8:17.
Miles three, four, and five: 7:58, 7:40, 7:09.
Mile 6: 8:22.

Good workout! Shelley is over with Austin, as well as T! Shelley, Austin, B and C, and I went to the playground today! It was a TON of fun but very cold. It's been a fun weekend so far! Tomorrow, I'll get up early and get 9 miles in. I'm not sure if I'll run around the lake a few times or go another route. I think I'll decide that at the last minute.

The race is coming up very quick. I can't believe it's already almost September. One more month of consistent training and I'll see what my hard work has done for my race performance. I may not run a lot after the race is over. I'm thinking about just trying to get out the door 4-5 days a week and doing short runs all but one of those runs. Sunday will probably always be my long run day. I'm very excited for the race, but really need to focus on school right now.

Thought for the day: Stress is just a nasty six-letter word!

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Progression

I haven't been very good about posting lately. I can see myself posting less and less during the school year (that comes with the territory of the full time job with full time school).

Monday was my easy run. Three miles at a modest pace (I think 8:40/mile).

Tuesday I had off. I didn't run at all, but I played outside a lot!

Today I got out the door at about 7am. I love that time of day (now that it's staying darker later in the morning). Unfortunately, I will have to really get myself used to waking up earlier and just GETTING out the DOOR~~

My progression run felt amazing. I still feel like my lactic acid threshold is low and the last mile of my hard run (mile 6) was torture! Overall, the workout was really great!

Mile one- 8:31
Mile two- 7:43
Mile three- 7:33
Mile four- 7:19
Mile five- 7:15
Mile six- 6:57
Mile seven (cooldown)- 8:31

It's really amazing how EASY 8:31 feels when you've run hard for 5 miles!

Classes start soon! I already have emails from UWC (for my three online classes), as well as confirmation of my 5 credit UWRF course for this fall! I signed up to take my PRAXIS 2 test (I have to pass this to student teach). I'll be taking this test in November! This should be an exciting and BUSY school year! I'm looking forward to graduating college. Even if I don't get a teaching job right away, I love working in the school! Every day is a new adventure, and a chance to reach children with the hope of passing on a love for learning!

Thought for the day: "To be idle is a short road to death and to be diligent is a way of life; foolish people are idol, wise people are diligent." BUDDHA

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Sunday Is Just One Day

This morning was a glorious run. I didn't feel amazing, and my legs still feel as if the lactic acid is pooling (some SERIOUS dead legs going on), but the run was terrific and not too fast! I ran 8 miles today at a nice even 8:31 pace. I also ran a different route than my normal Sunday route (not just around the lake).

My mileage this week totaled 29 miles. I skipped my Monday run (after running 13 miles until 8:30pm Sunday night). I didn't see this as a disasterous turn. What I do forsee as disasterous is what could happen to me when school starts again. I could use some good advice for what to do with 2 kids, a full time job, and full time college, as well as the desire to run well. I'm not looking to be an elite athlete any time soon, here. I just want to keep improving and see where I can go!

Tomorrow, an easy three. It's my progression week (7 mile progression on Wed.) coming up, and I'm hoping to kick some butt!

Thought for the day: Get outside! It's BEAUTIFUL~!

Friday, August 21, 2009

Poor Blogger

I haven't been very good about keeping up with my blog. Truth be told, I am EXHAUSTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just finished my final summer class yesterday, but it has been a very exhausting (yet worthwhile) process. Running has been going okay, but I feel slower and more lethargic than usual.

I took Monday off (was supposed to go an easy three), but couldn't get myself up and out of bed in time. I wanted to stay under the covers all day, but class trumps sleeping!

Wednesday I ran my workout. It was 3x1600m with 800m rest in between. My warmup was 1.5 miles and my cooldown was 2.5 miles. Believe me, I needed that 2.5 mile cooldown! As soon as I got home from my run, it was off to the showers, get dressed and literally, RUN out the door with the boys to class. (Yes, my boys have taken a college class now! They were with me every day except last Wednesday! Good for them!)

Wednesday's workout was fair. T had me running 7 min. miles on paper, but in reality, the first mile was 7:12, the second, 6:56, and the third was 7:07. Not exactly as fast as it was supposed to be, but my body just wouldn't let me go faster.

Today, I ran 5 miles with 8x100 strides. Again, it wasn't that great. I ran decent, but my body just felt like junk. I didn't think negatively during my run. I kept positive (which kept me on the road). Tomorrow is 7 miles. It's going to be more about keeping a positive mind set than anything else!

Thought for the day: When you like what you're doing, it's easy. When you don't like what you're doing, it's work.

Monday, August 17, 2009

Last Weeks Update

Okay, I ran 3 miles on Saturday morning. I got to try out my new Garmin 305 with heart monitor. The strap for the heart monitor was a bit (okay, very) uncomfortable, and it slipped while I ran. I also found that my heartrate was really high. I wonder if that was because the heart rate monitor strap was cutting off my circulation!!!

Randy and I ran together last night! Our wonderful neighbors watched our children while we set out for 13 miles. In the end, I actually ran 13.3 miles, but felt like it was a really worthwhile run. It was nice and easy (except there were LOTS of hills), but that's good for me. We didn't get done until after 8pm, so I'm not running this morning. I slept in a little and have school today, so I'll try to get 3 ez in later today or tonight.

Total for the week: 32 miles

Friday, August 14, 2009

Can't Expect Much

This week and next week are too crazy (school is INTENSE), so I'm not putting much in my blogs, as I have no time. It's 9:30pm right now, and all I want to do is go to sleep.

Yesterday, I ran 5.7 miles. It was supposed to be a 5 mile run, but I ran longer...no big deal. It was pretty muggy out early on, and I still had a nice run. Not too hard, not to easy. My pace was 7:56/mile.

I didn't run today. It's my day off. Good thing too...I had class all day in River Falls. I was so busy getting ready this morning, I skipped breakfast...Naughty!

Tomorrow I do an easy 3 miles. I'll get that done really early if possible. I'm going to the cabin tomorrow in the early afternoon. Not sure what I'm going to do about running 13 on Sunday. I think Randy and I will run 13 together closer to evening time. I was thinking somewhere around 6pm. We'll take it easy so that means probably 9 to 9:20 pace per mile. I'm hoping for decent weather that night. If it storms out, I'm scratching my run for the day...not sure what to do then....

Peace OUT...

Thought for the day: Stress is all in your mind...and your joints, and your nervous system, and your muscles.............

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Progression Run

Let me start out by saying...I got a FULL night's sleep last night. I don't know HOW that happened, but it felt great! It helped to start the morning out on a positive note, with my 7 mile progression run ahead!

About 6:20, I left the house, waited for the Garmin to acquire satellite signal, and started my run, nice and easy. My first mile was completed in 8:35. I purposely slowed myself to make sure I wasn't going out too hard!

The second mile (the first of 5 for the actual PROGRESSION run) was pretty easy just under 8 minutes (7:54). My third mile was done at a 7:44 pace. Unfortunately, that's the mile where I met up with a couple of crazy little dogs and couldn't get them to go back home (I tried to use the pepper spray, but couldn't get it to work). It was a little scary, but their owner called them back (FINALLY) and off they went. Seriously, people. PUT YOUR PETS AWAY! T said I shouldn't worry about running all out to make up time like that. I guess my pride got in the way, and I really wanted this to be a progression run...that's my story. Anyway, it kind of ruined the rest of my run. After running so hard and fast to make up for the "DOG" time, I felt really wiped. I still ran 7:09 for mile 4, and 7:03 and 7:01 for miles 5 and 6. But I was really hoping to have the last mile (if not the last 2 miles) under 7 minutes. That was my goal. Well, running is all about adjusting. We may be adjusting because of weather, animals, or injury and pain. I have to learn that not EVERY run is going to be stellar (or better each time). I'm happy with my progress.

For the last mile, the cooldown, I didn't want to run...I was hurting! But I pressed on and finished my last mile in 8:07. Good run for the day!

School was absolutely amazing! It's crazy, fast paced, and a really great learning experience (sounds like running to me!). I have one and a half weeks left! How's that for a 3 credit semester's worth class!?

Thought for the day: You will never climb the mountain if you never make it past the hill.

Monday, August 10, 2009

No time for small talk...

Wow~

Today was my first day of Inquiry Learning (my final summer class). I can tell it's going to be a tough 2 weeks (smushing one semesters worth of classwork into 2 WEEKS).

Here's the scoop...I ran 3 easy miles this morning. I have tomorrow off, then a 7 mile progression run on Wednesday. I'll work as hard as my legs will let me on Wednesday, but I said it before; I have got to lower the intensity...I'm feeling over"run" (hee hee!) right now.

Thought for the day: What the HECK was I thinking signing up for 11 credits this summer!!?

Sunday, August 9, 2009

After the Storm

The temperature was over 70 degrees by 6:15am. I realize with the humidity, it felt much warmer (definately in the "muggy" realm). It didn't matter...I wasn't going to scrimp on my long run today. However, I did keep in mind the idea of not worrying about hammering out a long run; I would just run this one EASY!!

Nothing is easy about running in this weather. My body tightens up and my legs get heavy just stepping out the door. But today, NO EXCUSES. I went out and just RAN.

It was nice to keep a slower pace. I noticed things around the lake that I usually just ignore when I'm running faster. The lake was a light shade of grey, and it was calm, yet I could see movement coming from under the surface (possibly fish or ducks). At one point, I saw a baby mole scatter around the road. I wanted to lead him to the side of the road (so I didn't have to see him flattened on my second time around), but I just let him go on his own. He was kind of cute. His front legs were so short they stuck straight out in front of him. His eyes were squinty. and he moved in kind of a zigzag pattern. I imagine he can't see where he's going. I wondered where his mom was. It reminded me of all the kids running around with no parents in sight. This is supposed to be the age of caution, isn't it!?

Speaking of caution...

I wish I could see more people out running or at least walking. I came across a car parked on the side of the road, with NO ONE in it. I thought, ooh, maybe a psycho is hiding in there...no, it was just an older man that parked it there so he could go for a run. I didn't meet up with him, but it's nice to see people out there exercising! I'm a suspicious runner. I try to have a hightened sense of awareness; that's why I feel better when I see others running. I tend to relax a bit.

Okay, that was a whole lot of wind! Total for today: 11 miles. Total for the week: 32 miles.

Thought for the day: This is enough thinking for today...I'm going to go stretch and do my crunches. Have a good one!

Saturday, August 8, 2009

Time for A Break

I've made so much progress since really getting serious about running in the last 6 weeks. With that said, I need to focus on slowing down. I know, slowing DOWN!!? I remember starting up running this March, wanting to train hard for the Garry Bjorklund half marathon in June. I started out just being able to run 3 miles. After those runs, I would feel tired and worthless. It was a chore just to get out and do 3 miles! Now, I'm on an actual program that's working for me; but am I working for it? I think my long-winded point is...I need to lower my intensity. Sure I'm excited about running again, and I'm very competitive by nature. Slowing down seems so far fetched (yeah, especially since I feel pretty good while I'm running faster). The goal is to not get injured and to log some long slow runs. The race speaks for itself with proper training/recovery time.

I'm not taking time off. It's not like I'm injured and need a real BREAK. I just think it would be best if I don't log boastable (for me, anyway) times for the majority of my runs. We'll see how that works out!

On to my run today...

I ran a 2 mile warm-up, a 3 mile "race pace" and a one mile cooldown for a total of 6 miles. My legs are still heavy from all the hard running I've done lately, but my 3 mile effort was pretty decent. I averaged about 7:13 a mile for my 3 mile "race pace". I better slow things down if I want to average that for a 10 miler some day!

Thought for the day: I can see clearly now, the rain is gone...but only for a moment; it's on it's way back!

Friday, August 7, 2009

Anxiety and Sleep Deprivation

I just got my new issue of Runner's World in the mail yesterday. Since I have all summer off of work, I spend a healthy portion of my time reading. I sat down with the new issue and began reading about Tera Moody. Her story of sleepless nights and early mornings reminds me of me just a little. The fact that I can't remember an actual full night of sleep for the last 10 years makes this story hit home for sure. It's not that I'm an insomniac. I consider an insomniac unable to sleep or nap for any decent period of time. My issue is my lack of a full night's sleep (and then my desire to nap throughout the day- especially in the summer when I'm not working). I relate with one of her statements, "...really wishes she knew how to sleep." I think I'd be a better runner (and feel better/less irritable) if I had proper sleep every night. That's something I'll have to work on; right now, I'll just focus on writing in my run for today.

Morning run, 5 miles with 8x100 strides. The first 5 miles felt really smooth, not pushed. My legs were still a bit sore (and my butt...TMI), from my hard track workout on Wednesday. I ran at an 8:03 pace, and was off to my 8x100's. The first two were a little awkward. I felt like I was overextending my stride and even felt a little pain behind my left knee. For the next 5, I took it a bit easier/ counting up higher as I couldn't figure out how to get the Garmin to do 100 meter intervals. For my last 100 meters, I was close to the turnoff at 85th ave. (the HILL). I just finished on the hill...maybe not the best way to do strides, but hey, I'm stubborn so I just did it!

Peace out. That's my post for today, 5 and strides. Maybe my full-time anxiousness (ask my family...), and my lack of sleep go hand in hand. One thing is for sure; I am a type A personality. We live shorter lives, we strive for perfection, we usually overexamine EVERYTHING! I'd like to be laid back and relaxed...just give me a set of directions on how to do that, and I'll follow them!

Thought for the day: If at first you don't succeed...

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Track Workout #2

Who: Me
What: Track workout #2
Where: Saint Croix Falls Track
When: 7am
Why: Because I'm crazy, that's why!

This was my second track workout this season. I began with a nice 2 mile warmup. After that, I stretched out a bit, drank a little water, and toed the starting line for my first 800 meters (of 4 total).

The first 800 meters was faster than I had expected, at 3:11. I haven't done 800 repeats in a very VERY long time; so maybe I shouldn't have expected anything at all! My rest was nice (400meters...I needed it). For my second 800, I ran 3:09. Okay, that was a little too fast. For the next one, I slowed the pace down to 3 minutes and 13 seconds. On my final 800, the watch said 2:45. I kept running as the GPS told me my 800 was finished (but I still had a good 60 meters to go). Although the watch said 2:45, it was more like 3 minutes. Very fast for me, but I pushed on the final 800 and knew this one was faster than the other 3. After doing my final 400meter recovery lap, I took some water, and JOGGED the 2 mile cooldown. My heart was pounding for the first 4 laps, and finally I started settling into a normal EZ pace for the final mile of cooldown.

The weather held together nicely. It was about 65-70 degrees with a bit of wind, but not enough to make a difference. I hear humidity and heat are headed our way for this weekend. I'll have to make sure to get out really early for my long run on Sunday!!

I enjoyed this track workout. I know I'm unfamiliar with my pace for 400/800/1600 meters, so for my next track workout (in 2 weeks), when I run 1600 repeats, I'll be sure to just let my body tell me where I should be. I'm not going to concern myself with trying to keep a certain pace.

School news...Financial aid has not shown up on my eSIS report as of today. I am in a boatload of trouble if it doesn't show up by the 20th of August. I contacted the fin. aid and admissions and registrar on all this. One of the ladies said it could be a problem. Okay, time is ticking away. I would hate for this to be the reason I can't graduate this coming spring. Wish me luck! I need it!

Thought for the day: “Winners compare their achievements with their goals, while losers compare their achievements with those of other people”- Nido Qubein

Monday, August 3, 2009

EZ is not always easy

I'm seeing a trend in my Monday ez runs...they're not so easy. As I increase the intensity of my Sunday runs (and therefore, better my pace), my legs are heavy and I feel like I have to work harder to push out an easy Monday 3 miles.

I wonder if that's normal? If it isn't; maybe I need to intentionally slow myself down on my Sunday long run. The thing is; I feel good on my Sunday runs. I always push myself a little, but not so hard I'm overextending myself. For now, the answers remain a mystery. I have been using the "stick" and I'm not sure if I see any dramatic results. I'll keep using it...maybe there is a trick to it, and I don't know it!!

Today, lots of stretching, a little knee icing, last minute Place Based Science work (my last class wraps up tonight!), and then class at UWRF from 4-7:30!
Busy day! (that's always nice!)

Thought for the day: Observation is the KEY to open the door to learning.

Sunday, August 2, 2009

10 is more fun than 1

That was the dumbest title I could think of for today. I'm losing ideas for titles. I suppose I could just use the date as my title....Well, I didn't.

Today was a nice comfortable 10 mile run. I laced up my new mizunos at 6:22 and headed out the door.

It was nice to see PEOPLE out this morning. On my first round around the lake, I met up with a guy on a bicycle. He said, "Good morning!" (I try to just wave, as I don't want to spark up conversations while I'm running). I saw him again coming around the other side of the lake and he said, "I'm beating you!" That was pretty funny...

On my last leg around the lake, I saw an older man walk/running his 2 big dogs. He was trying to talk to me, but I was trying to push out the last 2 miles of my run and didn't want to waste energy or time talking; so I kept running. It was a pretty even paced run, with the last 2 miles at 7:56 and 7:19. My last mile was intentionally faster, for the purpose of seeing what I had left after a pretty decent run. Overall, my pace was 8:01.

Total for today: 10 miles. Total for the week: 28 miles

Thought for the day: If you look at yourself and think, "What the heck was I thinking?", think again and make a change.

Saturday, August 1, 2009

Windy morning run

Wait...to call this a run would be mocking the art of running. This morning, my run was more of a "jog against the wind"! It was my ez 3 mile day, anyway, so having a nice easy "jog" was the whole point. However, the wind pretty much took the wind out of me; so I ended up working harder than usual on an easy run.

No problems! I had my new shoes on today. I ended up getting the Mizuno Wave Inspire 5, and they were such a great deal, I was able to get "The Stick" as well. I can't wait to use it on my legs, even if they aren't sore!

Thought for the day: One more month until school starts!

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Fast Legs, Bad Shoes

Like I said in yesterday's post; I wanted to run a little faster than usual today- because I wanted to see what I had in me after yesterday's workout. I ran 5 today, and I have tomorrow off, then an easy 3 on Saturday. Taking those variables into consideration, I just went out and ran "fast" today.

Now, some of you may laugh at me...my fast is probably slow for you. But I can see improvement in my running over the last few months. This is a good thing!

Let's look at today's mile splits (I ran a 7:31 ave. pace), but I will break it down mile for mile here.

Mile 1- 7:46
Mile 2- 7:34
Mile 3- 7:39
Mile 4- 7:18
Mile 5- 7:20

It was a real surprise to see mile 4 as my fastest. I was fatigued at mile 3, and didn't check mile 4 and 5 splits.

Good run for the day. I feel great. I'm hoping for a little bit of soreness (to prove my legs are working harder than usual).

Thought for the day: My Australia course is done. I got an A, and I'm waiting on my TED 155 (tech. course) grade, and my Place Based Science grade. ONE CLASS LEFT this Summer!

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Progression...

I ran my 7 mile progression run this morning. Just like my last progression run, I started out at a nice easy pace (1 mile warm-up). Then I hit the next 5 miles harder, and cooled down 1 mile.

I didn't go out with great expectations this morning. After all, this isn't a race; but I wanted to see where I was at, and if I could go a little harder than my last progression run two weeks ago. It was a great workout, and I'm glad I got out early in the morning like I did...HOWEVER...I can't stop sneezing. I took some Emergen-C (thanks T), and drank some gatorade when I got home. Hopefully I'll feel back to normal in a little while. My legs feel great, and everything else is fine. It wouldn't be normal to be 100% fine after a run like this, would it!?

Here are my mile splits for todays progression run!
mile 1- 8:23
mile 2- 7:35
mile 3- 7:26
mile 4- 7:10
mile 5- 7:06
mile 6- 6:53
mile 7- 8:23

Not too shabby for my second progression run! I must be doing something right! The crazy thing is; I didn't check my splits, so I didn't actually KNOW I was running each mile faster (but hoped I was). That's all for now. Tomorrow is my 5 mile run. I may try to run it at 7:30/7:45 pace (since I have Friday off, and an easy 3 on Sat.) We'll see how the legs feel tomorrow!

Thought for the day: Favre out...

Monday, July 27, 2009

Short Post

I'm not going to candy coat this post. Very simply, I ran 3 really easy miles this morning. My legs are still feeling a bit heavy from my 12 mile run. (Though I'm not really SORE).

Yesterday, after Randy finished his run we went shopping. Target, Famous Footwear (kids school shoes), and then Cub Foods. Sadly, we didn't even get home until after 5, and that's when we had to get all the work around the house done. Oh, and driving through Stillwater yesterday was like drivers ed for really REALLY bad drivers. Where is the common sense, people???

Tomorrow is my day off (of running). I'll post again on Wednesday.

Thought for the day: I can tell it's going to be a very muggy day...muggy=yucky...

Sunday, July 26, 2009

I Could Go For MILES, and Miles, and miles......

I'll preface this post by saying, "I need some new shoes!!"

Okay, got that out of the way!

This morning was a nice long run (for me anyway). I was so proud of myself for waking up, when I really wanted to sleep in! I was also proud of the fact that I only checked the watch three times during my run (and only checked the time twice)- I checked my distance at the first mile, then somewhere in between (can't remember which mile, ha!) and then at the last turn around the lake (close to ten miles). After that, I just ran until I was at 12 miles, then I still had a little way to go to get home, so I trotted home!

I really honestly thought I was running slow. My legs (once again) felt heavy, and I told myself to not push this run...I was out to get the miles in, not to go at race pace! I ran a very respectable 8:15/mile pace...YEAH, that blew me right out of the water! I thought for sure that was about 8:45-9min pace.

Good run, good times! Now it's time to plan my day! Maybe laundry, maybe cleaning the bathrooms...vacuuming...pulling weeds....maybe all of this! I'm going to make sure I spend time relaxing and enjoying this quite perfect weather!

OH, hold the PHONES...I got my new fitflops in yesterday! I have a pair of fitflops from a couple years ago, and I LOVE THEM! I love them so much, they're absolutely worn down. I'm glad my new ones came in yesterday. They felt really good on my feet after my run this morning! GO fitflops!

Total for today: 12+ miles. Total for this week: 36+ miles

Thought for the day: "Your present circumstances don't determine where you can go; they merely determine where you start." -Nido Qubein

Saturday, July 25, 2009

Common Thread

Okay, I'm noticing something- reading my blogs from the recent past...

I'm NEVER getting a good night's sleep. This is true. Since my children were born (9 years ago), I have not had more than a handful of full nights of sleep. To me, it's normal. Maybe to others it seems a bit odd, and possibly horrifying! Here's the deal; if I'm just waking up periodically through the night, it's much better than not being able to sleep due to excruciating headaches. It's like taking the lesser of two evils! (sound political??)

My run today was supposed to be normal. It wasn't an ez run, and not a workout...somewhere in-between. It felt pushed and harder than it should have at 8:13 pace. My legs are hinting that they're a bit tired. I think this is the point where my muscles are breaking down in order to recover and become stronger?? Well, with having a 12 mile run tomorrow; I hope those muscles can handle the miles!

I don't worry about the long distances. I especially like an early Sunday morning run- not having to worry about getting back at a certain time (it's Randy's only guaranteed day off of the week). I'm going to take it easy tomorrow and let my body decide the pace. I'll use the watch just to keep track of the miles- but otherwise; I want to have an enjoyable long run tomorrow morning!

Total for today: 4.2 miles @ 34:42

Thought for the day: Good luck to all the 10 mile runners today in Stillwater! GO TEAM RUN N FUN!

Friday, July 24, 2009

Lightning and Thunder...

I waited to go out for my run today. Right off the bat, I figured I would only get 6-7 miles in, because I didn't want Randy to be late for work. I waited until the rain stopped pouring down, and took off out the door at 6:17am.

The first half of the run was nice and breezy with lots of humidity. As I turned the corner on Cty. Rd M for my second time around the lake- the sky turned all sorts of shades of grey. It was an eerie feeling coming off of M onto the lakeside. I knew I'd have lots of tree line coming my way, and was hoping for NO LIGHTNING!! My comfortable 8:20 pace turned into 7 minute pace when I heard the first rumble of thunder and the cracks of lightning.

At that point, I was just hoping to make it home before the downpour and lightning strikes started. Yes, I ran pretty fast for my last 2 miles, but I had to get going! I saw a van drive slowly by me, as if to gawk at the silly runner out in a thunderstorm. When all was said and done, I ran 7.1 miles today (at ave. 7:55/mile pace), and got in the door JUST before the downpour. It was a good idea to take that extra mile off today. Maybe I'll add another mile to tomorrow's run...maybe not. Whatever is the case; I will NOT be running during thunderstorms. It was cool when I was in college; but it's not so cool when you're a mom with big time responsibilities!

Thought for the day: My Australia course assignments are coming back graded. I'm not doing as well as I had hoped...epecially since I've really gotten into the class. I still love it. I'm still going someday!

Thursday, July 23, 2009

Recovery Run

I ran 4 miles this morning (4.15 to be EXACT). My training calendar said 3 ez today, but since I only ran one mile for cooldown yesterday (instead of 2), I added an extra mile in today. That worked well!

Nothing much to say about today's run. It was nice and easy. I could feel a little soreness in my left hamstring, but other than that, everything felt fine. My track workout yesterday didn't seem to leave me feeling wiped out or too terribly sore, like I thought it would. I was able to keep a nice comfortable 8:30 pace for my ez run today.

I have an essay to put together for my Australia course. This will be a challenge, as I am just drained from all the school-work I've been doing lately. I have the time to do it...I'm just not sure I have the energy (but having to pay for my summer classes out of pocket sure boosts the motivation factor!)

After my paper is done, I will have just one class left this summer. It's an intense three week course on Inquiry Learning. I'm excited (and nervous) to get that class started (and finished!)

Thought for the day: I have learned a lot this summer...like I never want to have such a crazy schedule again...I want to spend more time with my kids, and don't want to be so short tempered due to stress. I hope next year brings a summer filled with time off and relaxation! (That is...after my two summer classes next year, are finished!!)

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Track Workout

I waited until Randy got done with his morning run (I needed the watch). When he FINALLY got back (close to 10am)- I was ready to leave for my track workout. I had to bring the boys with, because Randy ended up having to work today. Well, it was either going to be a DISASTEROUS workout, or just plain HOT AND HUMID (I generally don't run at this time of day because of that). Well, long story short...it was not disasterous (the boys were SOOOOO good), but it WAS hot and humid. BIG TIME!!

I ran the 2 mile warmup, and it was nice and relaxed, around 8:45 pace, then got into my workout. After the 3rd lap (the 3rd fast lap), the humidity was really getting to me. At that point, I decided to work at doing consistent 4th, 5th, and 6th fast laps.

After my 6 (well, 12...) laps were done, I chose to do just a one mile cooldown. It was so humid out, it brought back Grandma's Marathon (Garry Bjorklund) Day flashbacks in my mind. I made a good choice just going one more mile. The boys were fine, but I couldn't handle another mile in that heat and humidity.

Total today, instead of 7 miles, was 6 miles. That's okay. I felt like I had a very good effort for my first track workout. My recovery laps were not terribly fast, but as well, they weren't terribly slow!
2 mile warmup
Lap 1- 1:34
Recovery lap
Lap 2- 1:42
Recovery lap
Lap 3- 1:42
Recovery lap
Lap 4- 1:36
Recovery lap
Lap 5- 1:38
Recovery lap
Lap 6- 1:37
Recovery lap
1 mile cooldown

Thought for the day: Ask me today what you want done tomorrow. It's just so much easier to procrastinate that way!

Monday, July 20, 2009

Dogs that BITE, bite!

I didn't feel very well this morning. I had little to no sleep last night, as I had a headache that WOULD NOT go away! I didn't have any Ibuprofen with me either. Thus, a long sleepless, painful night...

I digress...

I woke up (sort of...if you call it that) at 5am. We had to get all of our stuff and go (so we could get home in time for Randy to get ready for work, but my headache lasted the entire ride home, as well. I was in no condition to go for a quick early morning run. So I decided to take an ibuprofen when I got home and rest for a while, instead of run.

Randy got home at about 8pm, and I was ready for my 3 mile run.

The run was pretty relaxing. I was all smiles (not having a headache will do that to a person!), until a large Doberman Pinscher came barreling after me. It was running fast and barking and showing its teeth. SCARY...after my instant heartattack, I stood my ground and yelled full force at the beast. It backed away (oh, thank the LORD), and I just kept staring it down (crazy, huh?)

So much for a relaxing run. I wanted to have a nice easy one, but after that, I just wanted to get home. Total for today, 3 miles, at 8:16/mi. pace.

Thought for the Day: Pepper spray is good...when necessary...

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Sunday Lake Loop

After little sleep, and a sodium packed dinner last night, I thought I'd just barely make it through my 11 mile run this morning! One thing I've realized since getting back into running, is that there will always be something that could drag you down, make you run slower, or encourage you to take the shortcut/easy way out. Unless I'm hurting bad on a run, I'm learning to just keep going...and it's working so far!

The lake loop took me three times around and halfway down 200th and back home for a total of 11+ miles. I stopped the watch at 11, and trotted home the rest of the way (attempting to shake out the legs and chest pain...can you shake out chest pain!?)

I did something cool too, on my run...I didn't check my times until 4 miles, 7 miles, and 10 miles. I was proud! I really wanted to see what pace I was at, but who's kidding who...I can't do that math in my head even when I'm resting (much less running). I ended the run at 1 hour, 31 minutes, and 26 seconds. That's 8:19/ mile. Not too shabby for a nice easy Sunday morning run. Let's face it, it wasn't THAT easy. I did push myself past the point of conversation pace, but I definately could have gone faster; so this was a good run!

Total for the week: 30 miles
Next week is my 37 mile week! AND my first track workout on Wednesday!!

Thought for the day: Heather: "Member....?" Tony: "Yes, I'm a member..." Heather: "Ugh" (for all of you who are going, "Huh?"...I used to say remember but forgot the 're' and Tony teased me about it ALL the time)



Friday, July 17, 2009

5 and Strides

After just 5.5 hours of sleep last night (rough night...homework HAD to get done), I finally woke at 5:55am. Randy has to leave for work by 7:30, and I would try to be out the door for my 5 miles + 8x100 strides by 6:15. When all was said and done, I yawned as I exited the door at about 6:35am.

I honestly thought the lack of sleep would hamper my running. It wasn't so bad. Even with sore muscles after Wednesdays workout, I was still able to pull through with an under 8 min. pace per mile for this run. I did want it to hurt a bit, because after my 5 miles, I wanted to go right into my strides feeling tired. It worked! The strides felt great. I always have room for strides. I liken them to dessert...no matter HOW much you eat (or in my childrens case...how much you say you ate) you always have room for dessert!

So, time for the 5 mile run= 39:15. I didn't time my strides. I just counted in my head to 20 to get as close as I could to 100 meters every time.

Tomorrow I have off. I'll be getting housework and homework done, and of course, spending time with my two little guys (no, T, not the pups...though they will get hugged). Sunday, I plan on waking up pretty early to put 11 miles in. It's not the miles that bother me, it's the crack of dawn...but I digress...It all serves a greater purpose!

Thought for the day: When will it RAIN again? This is crazy. I'm studying Australia right now, and feel right at home...minus the kangaroos and wallabees.

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Take it Easy

I didn't sleep well last night. My leg muscles were a bit sore, and I was up tossing and turning. I should have figured since yesterdays workout was pretty intense. This is fine. I'm happy with aches and pains as long as the easy day run proceeding is EASY. Today, my four miles was just that...nice and easy.

Not much to speak of outside of my running. School is fine, but I can't get videos to play on my computer, and desperately need them to for some major assignments. I just keep hoping it will work (or I can make it work) by tonight, or Randy and the boys may be going to KOA without me, while I find a place to watch these videos and participate in my discussion boards.

On a brighter note, it's a great day to put the laundry out to dry! It's a great day, just enough wind, just enough warmth.

One more thing....We made it in the lottery pick for the TCM Medtronic 10 mile race for Oct. 4. I am VERY excited about this race. Randy, cousin Kevin, Shelley, and I are running it as TEAM BIFFY!!!

Thought for the Day: I don't like ketchup. I LOVE tomatoes, but dislike ketchup....How's that for a random thought!?

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Running on Empty

Wow, I really pushed myself to the edge today, and I didn't even fall over!

Today was my 7 mile progression run. I was to run the first mile at a nice easy pace. The five miles after that were to be run 8min-7:30 pace...it was supposed to hurt a bit in the second half of the run, with a nice (easier) cool-down. Well, it did hurt for those 5 miles. I felt all kinds of things for the 5 miles I ran hard. The best part was, I ran faster each mile (which is the whole purpose of a progression run). It's good to see just where I'm at right now. Hopefully next year, these runs will be in the 6:40's.

Check these splits out!
Mile 1(warm-up): 8:43
Mile 2: 7:39
Mile 3: 7:27
Mile 4: 7:25
Mile 5: 7:22
Mile 6: 7:11
Mile 7 (cool-down): 8:32

I am pretty happy with this run. It was funny; I wish I could have seen myself on that last mile of the run. I felt like my legs weren't going to move, somehow, they did! What I'm really happy with, is that I know I can run fast (well, this is as fast as I can run at this stage).

Tomorrow will be a nice easy 4 miles. Thank goodness!

Thought for the day: Just when you think you've done all you can, you surprise yourself. Surprise yourself today!

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

Intention to Speed

I wanted to run today. I felt so lazy for not getting out there. But my "coach" says I need a rest once or twice a week, and I'm going to listen!

I took today off. Honestly, I did NOTHING today....

Yesterday I ran a very easy VERY relaxed 3 miles. My intention is to be able to run fast for longer periods of time by next spring/summer. This year is all about conditioning. I didn't even time my run yesterday, knowing that it wouldn't matter, as long as I felt relaxed and controlled during my easy run.

Tomorrow is another story. It won't be a relaxing run, I may be a bit out of control. I have to do a 7 mile progression run, which I am a bit nervous about, as I haven't (to this point) pushed myself outside of the comfort zone for more than a couple of miles (and even then, it wasn't that fast). Tomorrow I'll do my first mile easy, then for the next 5 miles, I'm going to see what I'm made of.

If we make it in the 10 mile run (lottery pick), for October's TC Marathon, I would like to be able to run at anywhere from 7:10-7:40 mile pace. This seems far fetched, but also why I'm so devoted to keeping on "track" with my training. If I don't make it into the race, I guess I'll have to find another run, but I've been really hoping to do this 10 miler.

So, for now, I'll preocuppy myself with thoughts of fast legs and a strong healthy heart. Those two can keep me going.

Thought for the day: I'm not in it for the fame or fortune, I'm in it to be the very best.

Sunday, July 12, 2009

A "BREEZE"

I can vaguely remember early spring runs. I was just starting to run consistently and was very disappointed with how windy and difficult my runs were. I wanted to run in nice weather, and was wondering when in the world THAT would happen.

Today was one of those days you look forward to in the early spring. It was cool and just a bit breezy. It wasn't too hot, nor was it too cold. Like Goldilocks would say, "It was JUST right!"

I ran around the lake three times. This gives a total of 10 miles, but I stopped the watch, and did a nice 3/4 mile cooldown (my legs were a bit sore, this cooldown was great).

On my first time around the lake, I watched bunnys scatter, birds dive in and out of the trees, and even saw two deer glide across the road (as if they were Santa's reindeer on Christmas Eve). My second time around the lake wasn't so delightful. As I do on all my lake runs, I said to myself (quietly) "fresh legs, positive attitude", as I turned the curve to go for my second round. Just as I said that motivational line, I came upon a rabbit, laying across MY side of the road, squished like a pancake. This rabbit was probably one of the rabbits I saw my first time around, scattering here and there. Now he or she was road-kill. I hoped I didn't have to run into a dead deer on my second time around (or third time). Thankfully there was no more roadkill that I could see for the remainder of my run (well, just the bunny I had to run past each time around).

Rest in peace little rabbit. I hardly knew ye!

Good run (other than soreness....but hey, it was a 10 miler).

Total for today: 10 miles at 1 hour 21 min. (8:10? pace)

Total for the week: 31 miles

Thought for the day: It better rain soon....or our grass is going to poke holes through our shoes!

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Bunny Business

It's nice to go out for an early morning run; when the birds are out in full force, chirping away. The bunnies are hopping around in zigzag motion, trying to save themselves from me, the scary giant...(hee hee!)

It was an enjoyable run this morning. Just an easy 3miles. I didn't even take my watch with me. I didn't need it. I was going to let my body tell me how fast/slow I should be going! And it felt great. I have to say, I felt the aftereffects of a harder run (with strides) from yesterday. This includes (but is not limited to...) sore glutes, tight muscles, and the legs were a bit heavy. I'm not complaining! If I never push myself, I'll never get faster.

Thought for the day: I wish I knew what the birds were chirping about...Is there a worm social at 3pm? Do they need to know what to bring for it?

Friday, July 10, 2009

Out of the Comfort Zone

Running fast is fun. It's quite exhilarating. Today was no exception. 5 miles around the lake one and a half times (about), and 8x100 strides (which were actually a welcome end to my run, as I pushed myself throughout the 5 miles). I did the 5 miles in a slightly uncomfortable (mostly because of the nasty humidity) pace. for 5 miles, the pace was 7:50/mile, at 39:18. I am sure I would have felt less uncomfortable with slightly lower humidity this morning (because it was like running in a rainforest).

The run was nice. I was happy to push myself a bit. If I never do that, I'll always be "just average".

10 am, the Frederic Library opens. I have to go there to pick up a book for my Australia course. That should be a fun little drive up north! Otherwise, I did not get to vacuuming yesterday, and still have to do that. I'd like to find a little time to go through my lesson plans that I will be using for my Electronic Portfolio, for Teacher Education. It's due at the end of my student teaching next spring, and there is SOOOOO much left to do! Such is my life!

Thought for the day: Why is the grass always greener on the other side? Are they using some kind of secret formula fertilizer??

Thursday, July 9, 2009

Three and Easy

Yesterday, Randy decided it would be fun if we just packed our clothes and necessities quickly, and head out to the KOA in Hayward. It was a really fun idea, and since I got my run in early yesterday, I was up for the mini-vaca.

We headed home early this morning, so I got in my 3 easy miles around 8:20 am. The run was nice, but I could tell I've gotten used to the really early runs, and the lack of humidity and heat. My pace today was a bit fast for an easy run (8:21/mile), but I felt really controlled and it wasn't difficult. Just to make sure it was an easy run, I sang out loud while running (T says on an easy day, you should be at conversational pace)...I didn't sing too loud...I don't think I did at least!

Lots to do today. I have homework to catch up on (for two of my classes), I have to go to the public library and video store (to pick up a book and video for my Australia course), and to the store. I have to vacuum, sweep, do laundry, and take some time to actually relax (if that's possible!!)

Enough of my "laundry list"....

Thought for the day: Is he or is he NOT a Viking????? (I still haven't heard).

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Lake Loop

Running around the lake early in the morning has now become one of my favorite daily activities! It's easy to take some things in life for granted, as they're just "there/here". I have a beautiful lake (Horse Lake), not so far from my house, and I can run around this lake and get a good 3.5 miles in just running around it. It's lovely!

This morning was my 7 mile run. I added on a bit, but stopped the watch at 7miles. It was a nice relaxing run until I got to Hwy. M and cars were just whizzing by. I ran faster those two times, but not so fast that it bothered me. The run was nice and easy, and aside from a bit of nagging knee and hip pain, I felt great!

Time: 59 min 37 sec. Pace: 8:30/mile. Total for today: 7+ miles.

Thought for the day: It's easy to take things for granted, and at times, you don't know what you've got until it's gone.

Monday, July 6, 2009

Nagging Pains and Too much HOMEWORK

So I guess I'm up to my eyeballs in homework. It's just that the motivation to keep up with all this work, being a mom (of course), and running and working out is just starting to wither. I want to be motivated to do all the things I need to do, but in reality...I just want to sleep. I want to curl up under the covers (even if it's 100 degrees out) and just sleep. It's not that I don't love that I have so much going for me right now. It's just the balancing act that gives me grief.

Today was a VERY easy 3 miles. When I say, EASY, I mean it. I ran 3 miles in about 26-27 minutes (didn't bring the watch), but that's like 8:45-9min. pace. I felt fine. I was able to really concentrate on being in the moment. I still feel frazzled, though.

Tomorrow I'm taking the day off. Not because I'm tired, but because it's in my training plan. I'll get some much needed homework done (if I can muster some motivation). How long have I been in school without a BREAK? I've been in school without a break since 2007. That doesn't seem like much, but that's two summers now without vacation. Next summer is my last summer of classes for UWRF. I think I have 2 summer classes (as opposed to the 4 this summer), then I'm a graduate (we all hope!)

Motivation is not really as easy as just saying, "I can do this..." It's more internal than that. Motivation comes from the intrinsic drive to accomplish something. I tend to be an extrinsic person. I like the results. I like the feeling of accomplishing something for the sheer joy of the accomplishment. Right now, I could be working really hard at my Science portfolio, or my Australian Studies work, or even finishing the last 2 assignments for my tech. class. But here I am...rambling on....

Thought for the day: If you give a moose a muffin, he'll probably want some jam to go with it...

Sunday, July 5, 2009

Early Bird Gets the Run

Yesterday was a fun-filled day, where sun and burn flowed together harmoniously all over every exposed part of my body. It was a day of lawn games and sparklers, slip and slides and campfire. Overall, a really great day! The day lasted until 11:30 pm when I finally fell asleep.

4:30am came too soon. I could hear Tony taking the dogs out for their morning walk (why 4:30am? Because the dogs pretty much OWN T!) I tried to sleep for another hour, but by 5:10 I was up and getting ready for my morning run. Folks, when you have little kids and a husband who is either out the door to go to work by 7:30 am, or in today's case, GOLFING; you have to get out the door early if you want to get any miles in. I needed 9 today.

I got my nine miles. I had the nagging pain behind my left knee again at the beginning of the run. It worked itself out within the first half mile, though. I'm not sure if I should be worried about it, or if I should just pay really close attention to the next couple of weeks of running, and see if it still bothers me and THEN do something about it...

Okay, so my run was nice. All that talk about bears and the bear in Siren that mauled the pregnant lady outside her home really scared me. I almost thought about not running...but I can't let those things rule my life. So, I ran at a pretty nice clip. I averaged 8:24 per mile for 9 miles. Not bad. 1 hour and 15 minutes for my run today. I'll take it. Tomorrow is an easy three miles. I keep saying I'll do yoga, and I don't. When I have time, I will.

29 miles for the week.


Thought for the day: You can fix anything with a roll of duct tape and some time. This probably does not apply to injuries...

Saturday, July 4, 2009

Happy Fourth of July!

It's a great day to celebrate such a glorious country in which we live! I'm thankful for the freedom to run on our roads (thanks to us, the taxpayers!), and breathe the air (what's left of the clean air)- All jokes aside...It was a nice morning for a run.

Okay, so today was an easy EASY 3 miles. I ran 8:41 pace (which is really slow, but felt really good after yesterday's harder run). I keep reminding myself that I'll be up to bigger miles in the next year or two. For now, this plan is working great (even though I just started it this week).

There were TONS of firework wrappers on the street and side of the street next to a house with tents in the yard...this is the "ALLEGED" house that had the people on the pontoon making noises at me as I ran yesterday. They must have had a blast last night! They left beer cans all over their yard as well. Good thing I don't make a lot of noise when I run. I hope I didn't wake anyone up!

Thought for the day: Have a great day! And I just want to take a moment and thank all of the brave service-men and women who are keeping our freedom alive! This day would not be the same without your devotion to our great country.

Friday, July 3, 2009

Hoots and Hollers....

Just a word to those who don't already know and follow this unwritten rule...Nice people do NOT mock runners. Okay, that was 6 words. I was on my run (starting at 5:50 this morning). I figured it would be a nice quiet run. I even considered NOT wearing my ipod, so I could focus on the run and the magical surroundings.

Good thing I had my ear buds in. Some people in a pontoon on the lake were making loud noises at me, yelling things at me, laughing, and then whistling. What is even worse, it seemed as if they were "following" me around the lake during my run. I finished up the run (after my 5 miles were done), with 8x100 strides. It really felt GREAT to get my legs to lengthen and move so fluidly. I wish I could run like that ALL the time!!!

Other than that, I felt really great on my run. Today was not to be an "ez" day, so I did push the pace a bit harder (without feeling drained). 5 miles at 8:10 pace= 40 min. 52 sec. I'll do a lot of stretching today and maybe later, some yoga. I think that will help in the long run (along with a multitude of good food/eating habits) to keep me injury free.

Thought for the day: Treat others as you would like to be treated. As well, think before you act.

Thursday, July 2, 2009

Easy Run=Recovered Legs

When I run short runs, I tend to speed up the pace. This isn't intentional, it just happens. Today was my easy 3 mile run. I wasn't going to push too hard, and I overdressed (wore fleece running pants) to keep my muscles warm. I'm not sure that helped, but what I was hoping to do, was to keep my muscles from contracting too much in the cold (okay, it wasn't THAT cold...)

The point is, I'm trying everything I can, just to keep my sore muscles (namely my hamstrings and the muscles and tendons surrounding my knees) from turning from sore to full blown injured.

As for any non-running news, I have A LOT of work to do for my three summer classes. No more procrastinating. Today is the day I'm getting a large load of work done. Wish me luck!!

Thought for the day: You are who you surround yourself with. So surround yourself with greatness.

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

6.0, Good to Go

Following the plan, yesterday was a zero day for me. I rested, felt a little sore in the knee and hammy still, and iced a little bit here and there.
Today, back on the road...

I ran a bit too fast for the first 3 miles, but I felt really good, and focused on my form. It seems the faster I run (as long as I'm not pushing myself TOO hard), my form is better. It's when I slow down to 9min. pace, my legs seem to hit the pavement harder, and it [the run] feels more forced.

Well, I slowed a bit in the last 3 miles of the run (ESPECIALLY the 4th mile, I forced myself to run an 8:55 pace, and about 8:45 for the 5th mile). The last mile was a little faster at about 8:35-8:40. I ended up running about 50 minutes for 6 miles.

The Garmin was going in and out on me during the run (maybe because of the rain), but that didn't matter. I love running in the rain, especially when it's just misting out! Tomorrow is an easy 3 mile day. What a beautiful morning. I hope tomorrow is this nice!

Thought for the day: "There are no coincidences. Anything that coincides is said to fit together powerfully." (Dr. Wayne Dyer)

Monday, June 29, 2009

New Training Plan

Thanks to my brother, Tony, I have a new training plan! I wasn't "cutting the mustard" with my crazy (foolish, perhaps) running program. This week looks pretty nice. I have to admit...my knee is still bothering me, but I'm trying to stretch and eat right, and keep moving gently (no pounding on my legs).

Here's what the plan for the week looks like:
Mon.- 3 miles easy
Tue.- Off
Wed.- 6 miles easy
Thu.- 3 miles easy
Fri.- 5 miles (8x100 strides)
Sat.- 3 miles easy
Sun.- 9 miles

As long as my knee doesn't snap on me, I'll be able to do all of this, this week! It's good to be back.

In other news, I have 3 classes (summer courses) now overlapping each other. I am getting a bit fried on school, and hoping I get through these courses and actually take information away with me! Maybe fall won't be so crazy....yeah, it will!!

Thought for the day: Embrace silence.

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Failed Attempt

This was the day I planned on starting up again. I got out the door and Randy and I were going to run around the lake once.

I guess my legs had other plans...

Once we began the downhill descent on 85th Avenue, the back of my left knee started pulling and I was experiencing sharp pains. I told Randy to keep going, I couldn't go any further. I shamefully walked back up the hill and made my way home.

Okay, so today isn't the day. I iced as soon as I got back into the house, and we'll see where I'm at tomorrow. Man, if I'm injured, this doesn't look so good. I don't want to fall apart. I just got back into running.

On a brighter note...classes are going well. Today I plan on getting at LEAST 3-4 assignments done for my tech class. What will I do when I no longer have school?? Honestly, I can't WAIT to find out!

Thought for the day: From the words of the great inspirational guru, Dr. Wayne Dyer, "Being passionate means taking risks. No one ever fails at anything. Everything you do produces a result."

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Nothing Going On Here...

Well, it's Tuesday. I haven't run since Saturday (the half marathon). My body needed the break. I was having trouble up until last night, just getting up and down the stairs. It's important to listen to your body; and when it says it's hurting, don't kick it into a gear it's not ready for.

I may still run today. The weather is still hot and humid, so if I go, it will be later today (7 maybe 8pm).

I just found out I won a scholarship for this coming year of school! It's not a BIG one, but it's $960 for the year, and that helps out A LOT! What a nice feeling, after applying for 7 different scholarships, that I would earn one! I am quite pleased!

My Placed Based Science and Technology courses are in full swing. I have a major project I'm working on for Place Based Science, and finishing assignments for my Tech. course. I have until the end of July to finish Tech, but I will do my best to complete it by mid-July!

Thought for the day: I have a feeling it's going to be hot today...again...

Saturday, June 20, 2009

Grandma's HEAT....

Friday, I ran 3 miles early morning. It was nice and easy and I didn't time myself just for that reason!

Saturday was the big day. I had been looking forward to this run for the last few months. Shelley, Kevin, and I woke up at 4am to get ready for the shuttle to the starting line! The weather right away this morning was a bit muggy. My legs were achy and my knees were sore. Tony was right though, when that gun went off (we couldn't hear it, as we were about 4,000 people back from the starting line), the pain just seemed to dissapear. The big problem was the heat and humidity. I weaved on and off the road to pass people, as I had lots of catch up to do if I wanted to finish at a reasonable place! The weaving and running quite quick the first 3-4 miles was pretty exciting and fun! I was fast and furious! Then, the heat started getting to me. Along with the heat, my legs felt really tired and heavy.

Let's just say this...I had fun, I'm glad I finished. Way to go Shelley and Kevin!!! What a great day (other than the tough run!)

Thought for the day: Running is fun!

(Oh, I ran 1 hour 52 minutes, not a p.r. but it was a race I am SO glad I ran!)

Thursday, June 18, 2009

Food Facts

Today is a 0 day for me. No miles, but unfortunately I have been moving around the house more than usual today with laundry, vacuuming, sweeping, cleaning rooms and bathrooms, and doing dishes! PHEW, not to mention spending time with the boys and the dogs!

Since I didn't run today, I have some really cool information I got off of www.runnersworld.com

Foods that help aid in recovery and repair: (or if you're just plain TIRED)
*Red Bell Peppers
*Papaya
*Salmon
*Carrots
*Whole grain cereals (be careful not to take in TOO much zinc)
*Almonds
*Avacados
*Spinach
*Dried apricots
*Walnuts
*Canteloupe
*Oranges

Well, this is most of the list! I figure it's stuff that's easy to find and purchase, and if Runner's World says it's good...WELL, it MUST be!!

Thought for the day: Anticipation isn't always good. Sometimes we make things bigger and better in our mind, and it lets us down in the end.

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Easy Does It

I went out this morning for a nice easy jog around the lake. The weather was nice...not too warm, not too cold. As I approached the infamous grey house (the house that had the giant dog run (with, after, you insert word here) me several times before had the giant dog out again. This time, a tiny pug type dog was barking along side him. As the large dog veered back onto his lawn, the small crazy dog shot after me, nipping at my heels (LITERALLY!). I turned around, stopped, and said many times over, GO HOME. The dumb little dog kept at me (even as I was at a stand still). SO....long story short, the thing finally went home after I threw some gentle obsenities at it and I was able to go on with my run around the lake.

I can't say I was upset by this. It is so typical to see pet owners leaving their dogs out without leashes or supervision. I'm sure even if they heard me (the pet owners), they don't really care. I can see them sitting around the living room, saying to each other, "I don't know why people are out there running anyway, pass me another bud." (Okay, maybe not, I guess I'm a little upset about this afterall!)

Total today, 4 miles. I did this in 33 minutes and a few odd seconds. I'm pleased with my run today, and getting really excited for what is to come this Saturday. I don't mean to build this race up so much. If you want to check back on Sunday night, I'll have my results posted. If I get even CLOSE to 700th place overall, that would be amazing! Here's to three digits!!!!

Thought for the day: I read a story today about an 18 year old runner who died during a training run. He was out in the heat (major heat and humidity), and though he was used to being out in the summer heat, this run was his last. It's important to listen to your body. It's also important to run at the coolest time of the day, if possible.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Falling apart

Listen, I'm trying to be positive here. I'm trying to think good thoughts and be ready for this race on Saturday. But the fact is, I feel like I'm falling apart. My body aches (again, not sharp pains, just dull aching in my legs), and todays run was 3.5 miles at about 8:36 pace. I felt okay, but just not as good as I should have going at such a nice easy pace.

At the end of my run, heading up the hill on 85th, I felt like I couldn't keep my breath steady and I thought I was going to pass out. I wasn't even running hard. Now I'm a bit concerned. I just don't feel right. Maybe it's nerves...maybe something worse...I don't know.

All I know, is if my legs don't feel normal by Friday, I won't have a very good race. Any suggestions?

Thought for the day: Being sore is a pain!

Monday, June 15, 2009

Day OFF!

I'm quite sure my little muscles are thanking me for the day off today. After all, I had to fit in two runs yesterday to make the mileage I wanted and this is taper week. (run less, stay healthy for the race on Sat.)

It's hot in the house today. Right now it feels 85 degrees in here. I'm sweating just typing this post!

My legs are sore (just a dull sort of sore), but as with all the other days I've felt like this, I choose not to take anything for the pain. I know this is part of the healing process from my overworked running regime! Thankfully, after Saturday, I'm going to focus on just packing on miles and not even worry about times. Not until August or September.

What a day. Hopefully tomorrow will bring a nice relaxing 4 mile run, with little effort! Wednesday I'm looking forward to a 7 mile easy run, and thursday I won't run at all. I have to leave for Duluth on Friday morning, so before I leave, I'll do 3 easy miles and head out with the boys! Just writing this is making me nervous! Hope that's a good thing!

Thought for the day: If you could turn back time, would you change your path...or do you appreciate the fact that the path you took (tulmultuous as it was at times) was the path that led you to where and who you are today!?

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Heat(her) and humidity...

I chose to run today after Randy returned from golfing. Yes, I could have gotten up at 6am and run my hour run today, but I decided to sleep in...

At about 10:55 I ventured out on my run. I was planning an hour run, at about 8:30 pace. Instead, the humidity was so bad, I only made it halfway to my goal. On top of that; traffic was SO bad, I was literally dodging cars, and speeding up the pace (I wasn't intentionally doing that).

This late morning run amounted to about 3.7/3.8 miles in about 30 minutes.

Later (this evening perhaps), I'll run another 30 minutes. Hopefully at a slower pace and with better weather conditions. I know it's not the best idea to be doing 2 runs in a day so close to race time, but I'm not doing any speed workouts (not trying to at least!!).

Less than 6 days from now I'll be doing my first HUGE race EVER! 4500 people are running this year in the Gary Bjorklund half marathon in Duluth! I'm scared and pumped all at the same time! My twin brother is running Grandma's marathon. My hope is to cross the line before T does! Wish me luck!

At about 7pm, Randy took the boys to the Dresser basketball court. I told him I would run there, and meet them. It was nice to get some more easy miles in today, especially since I had to cut the morning run short. The heat wasn't so bad, but it was really humid, and I took advantage of Randy's water belt (I wore it, but it bugged me, because it kept creeping up on me during the run...ANNOYING!!)

My mileage tonight was 4.8 miles at a really easy pace (mind you, there are LOTS of hills on this run, so I took extra care in not pushing myself too hard!). Total time tonight, 40 minutes and 44 seconds.

Total run mileage for the day: 8.5 miles.


Thought for the day: I just heard of this place called the heart attack cafe. A quadruple bypass burger is four layers of burgers, 8 slices of cheese, a whole tomato, onions, and a bun COMPLETELY dipped in boiling lard. NOT KIDDING. I think the man (correspondant) said it has over 7000 calories. He ate the WHOLE thing. Just think about it....


Saturday, June 13, 2009

Foggy Morning Run

Well, it's exactly one week to the half marathon. So, I guess you could say my running is turning into more of a jog. (I'm trying really hard to run EASY).

I ran to M and back home, which is a little over 3 miles. Hoping to keep the miles lower than usual, I decided 3 miles will do for today. Tomorrow I may run 6 to 7 easy miles (depending on how I feel). Speaking of how I feel...I still feel sore (dull pain) and have trouble sleeping at night. This needs to end or I'll be napping all day...yesterday I didn't get out for a run, but I had sort of planned it that way. I did a lot of working out and stretching. I napped a lot yesterday too. That's what happens when you never really hit deep REM at night.

Today I'll be cleaning the house. My 8 hour class was cancelled because our professor had to go somewhere on business, so I'm home all day!! I figure I'll get quite a bit of exercise just getting this place in tip top shape! I love a clean house!

Homework...oh, yeah, I have that to do too. I'll work that in somewhere. Though I'm a bit uninspired due to the fact that I don't understand WHAT I'm supposed to be doing, or HOW to do it. (It's a technology course...)

Thought for the day: Listen to your body. It often speaks louder than words (or even Billy Mays)....maybe.

Thursday, June 11, 2009

What's the pain worth?

I didn't sleep much last night. This has been nothing new for the past few weeks, but I'm just now complaining about it. My body aches. These aches aren't HORRIBLE, just dull aching all over keeping me awake and waking me in my sleep. I KNOW I'm training a bit too hard, I've already addressed this. But now I'm back on "track" (hee hee!).

After yesterday's run, I made the decision to run really easy today, and really short. I went 3 miles at an 8:30 pace...this is really easy for me to do (pretty great considering it was really hard 3 months ago, so I must be doing SOMETHING right!) The run was fine, my muscles are feeling better, and I'm hoping for another short easy run tomorrow before Randy goes in to work (or possibly, after he gets home).

I'm going to have a good race next weekend. I can't say it will be record setting, or that I'll even accomplish a time I would set as a goal, but there are some things we can't control, and I'm just hoping the training I've done will pay off in this race, and of course, in the future of my racing.

This begs the question to my THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: What is the pain truly worth? If the pain is worth doing your best in a single race, or worth the glory of a single win (if that could ever happen), then it wouldn't be worth it to me. I'm back into running for the long haul. I have been reminded that it's not instantaneous (getting back into shape...much less racing shape). So, what is the pain worth?? A good pain (one that goes away shortly after occurance- or a pain that is under a 4 on a scale from 1-10) is a gentle reminder that your body is getting stronger...that's okay with me. That's worth all the consistent running and smart training I'm doing. I'll pass on the bad pain.

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Easy Runs are always more fun!

Randy and I ran the "Dresser Run" this morning. We made a deal that he would be the pace setter (that's a man for ya'!). I was okay running a 9min./mile pace today, as I have said in previous posts- I have been over-doing it on my runs lately.

This was a beautiful, hilly run. I had the best time ever. I wasn't huffing and puffing to keep on pace, and it was pretty consistent (even with the big hills). At about 8 miles into my 10 mile run, the area below my knee started to pull and tighten, and it was hurting. I thought it was maybe because I had such a short stride on this run, and I tried lengthening my stride to see if that helped. Then at about 8.5 miles in, (I think...) we went up the GIANT hill. Going up it at a decent clip actually helped my knee. Then at 9 miles I took off and ran a really nice final mile. I didn't time it, but it felt great, and I felt great. I was running fast, and I wasn't breathing hard...until I got to our hill (85th Ave. hill). I pushed up the hill as hard as I could and finished strong.

Nice run. I would have gone 12 today, but because of my knee, I wasn't quite sure. I feel really good going a nice easy 9 and a strong last mile to give me 10 for the day!

Thought for the day: I'm not sure of anything, except that life is quite uncertain!

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Workout Day

No running today. Yesterday was a nice wake-up call from my body, asking me to please slow it down a little. I won't be ready for my half marathon (which is now just 11 days away) if I try to hammer out my easy runs.

I worked out in the "gym" in our lower level for about a half hour to 45 min. I made sure to work on my hamstrings and my arms/shoulders in particular (but my quads and abs and calves got quite a workout as well). Overall, nice workout! 0 miles today, but tomorrow is supposed to be my LONG run.

Randy has only one more day of vacation. It's been nice to have him home, and we got lots of outside work done and some good bowling in the last couple of days! I'm a terrible bowler. No worries, it was all in fun!

I'm getting a bit nervous thinking about the best possible training for the next 10 days. I'm going to go read my Runner's World and figure it out!

Thought for the day: Stouffers Lasagna really ISN'T that good...no matter what Randy says.

Monday, June 8, 2009

Slow and Steady doesn't win ANY races...

SO...today I decided to take it easy on my run. I went 5.5 miles and wanted to run from 8:30 to 9 min pace. Well, I didn't take a watch with me on the run, so I'm not sure about my pace. But I know that I ran pretty easy. My pace was slower than usual, but I really felt awful. It was that achy leg feeling, side stitch kind of run. One of those runs where you wonder why in the world you went out at all. But then I remembered...LOG THE MILES.

Last night I thought about all the reasons I got back into running. I thought about why I didn't try or train harder when I was younger (high school and college). I realized I hate the idea of preparation. This may also be why I don't like to cook. I don't like the preparation part. This probably was why I wasn't so great in school in my earlier years...I didn't like having to do the homework, or prepare for tests. This wasn't an epiphiny by any means, but it helped me to break through the wall I created years ago. Well, I must have already broken through it when I went back to school and worked so hard to do well...and now that I'm back into running, and running consistently, I have broken the wall even more.

I'm happy that I'm at where I'm at right now, at this point in my life. I'm proud of what I'm becoming and what I've already become. I'm stronger now than I was 12 years ago, maybe not physically, but I know that I will be.

Thought for the day: Good runs, aren't always the fast ones.

Sunday, June 7, 2009

BODY ACHING!

OUCH...

I took two days off. Was that supposed to help me? Usually a little time off helps keep you fresh. NOT FOR ME! Today's run was brutal. I ran 7.07 miles in 56 min. 51 sec. That was a 8:02 avg. pace.

So the pace was pretty good. I felt like absolute junk. My body ached, and I had that "out of shape runner's breathing" going on. But enough complaining. It's time to find out WHY I felt like this after two days off of running. After all, one should not have to run every single day of the week (especially since I'm in my first year back after eons off).

Next step...More water, more dark green veggies, and more high rep, low weight workouts.


Thought for the day: When big obstacles keep you from going from point A to point B, learn to steeplechase!

Thursday, June 4, 2009

Recovery run

This morning Randy and I went for a recovery run around the lake. It felt nice to go for 3.57 miles at an easy pace. We finished the run in a little over 9 minute mile pace (he told me he was setting the pace today, and I was fine with that!)

I'm planning another run around the lake tonight by myself. I'm going to run at my recovery pace which is about 8:30/mi. It should be a nice night for running!

Today's total= ________7 miles (well, just a TAD over 7)

My evening run was probably too fast for my recovery run. I ended up running 8:03 pace for 3.6 miles. I wanted to stay around 8:30 pace but maybe this was fine since I felt fine. I am definately feeling defeated by the heat (I think I run faster when it's hot just to get done sooner and OUT of the heat). Nice night for running??? Sure, if you like heat stroke weather. I am DEFINATELY a wimp when it comes to the heat. I can't stand it. But I'm happy I got out for an evening run.

Tomorrow....HILLS!!

Thought for the day: When in doubt...think.

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Good Morning LONG run!

This morning I went out around the lake a few times, then went an extra mile. I figure this was about 11-12 miles total. Not sure though, because RANDY took the Garmin on HIS run...

I don't have a lot of time to complain about that, as I have to get to the Osceola Elementary School and work the Track and Field Days events.

I do have to say, though, that my pace was pretty consistent, I felt good (except the right side of my groin still had a dull pain through my run), and I could tell my knees were hard at work pushing me through the long run today. All in all, it was a nice morning for a long run.

Tomorrow, I would LOVE to do a track workout...but I don't know if I should. Hoping for some advice, but I was thinking 400 repeats with an 800 rest in between? Not sure yet. I'll think about that tonight!

Thought for the day: If you ask, you may receive...but be careful what you wish for...you just might get it!

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Enjoyable Run

This morning, Randy and I went for an early morning run (okay, not THAT early) a little before 8am. I didn't want to do the same old, same old run, so we went halfway around the lake and past Dwight Lake Beach. I had never run over there before and there were some pretty nice little hills. Usually when I just run around horse lake, there are NO hills, except on the road back to our house.

It was an easy going 4.75 mile run today. I pushed up the hills a bit and worked on getting my stride and my form back. Overall, quite enjoyable!

Thought for the day: When you like what you do, happiness follows!

Sunday, May 31, 2009

This morning started off pretty crazy! I woke up on the couch after about 4 hours of sleep, from the licks of a hyperactive pup waiting to be either taken outside or fed! (Hello, they should have been in the kennel...what was up with that!?)

I ignored the licks and fell back to sleep, only to be awakened again by a large body mass and the sound of grunting (Shnook had jumped up on me as a springboard to get to the top of the couch- OUCH!)

Okay, I was awake. I fed the dogs and took them out for their morning walk. Then I decided to get a run in. By 6:55 I was out the door and running in such prime conditions!

My total for this morning is a little over 7 miles. We'll just say 7 to round it off. I'll run again tonight if I have the will and energy (today is Brock's bday party at a large putting golf course...I might be too tired later!)

Oh, cupcakes are done baking....gotta go!!


Saturday, May 30, 2009

I'm Still Here!

The last couple of days have been so crazy busy, I haven't had a chance to sit and collect my thoughts for a posting.

Well, let's see...I didn't run on Thursday like I had planned, just because Randy ended up having to go into work after I got home from work, (he originally had the day off)...But that happens.

Friday morning I got up early and ran 3 miles. It's not much, but I had to keep it short so I would have time to get ready for work. I am quite spoiled having a part time (afternoon only) job, where the morning is mine to do homework, housework, and get a good run in. This past week of being at the school full time has shown me what life will be like when and if I work full time....WHEW!!!! My little sister graduated from High School tonight. It was a pretty nice ceremony in Saint Croix Falls. The boys were tired, hot, and thirsty, and complained a bit, but overall, they acted quite well!

This morning is Saturday. I don't usually run on Saturdays, and since I have class in River Falls all day today, I won't be getting a run in. Tomorrow will either have to be one long run or broken into two decent runs (maybe 6.5 mi. and 4 miles). I'll think about that later! Gotta run (not literally...I have to get ready for my extremely LONG day!)

Thought for the Day: Time flies, so enjoy your life by the moment!

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Sorry

Okay, I didn't do a tempo run today (thanks T)...

It was interval training...which is quite dumb on my part since the Garmin even said INTERVALS....Well, better to know this now, rather than having to keep fumbling up my terms!

WHOA!!!

So I have today off of work. I had every intention of going out early for a long run, but I chose to take a nice long nap instead (from 9 until 11am!) When I finally got off the couch, I got into my running gear and headed out the door.

What a beautiful day! Nice and warm (not too warm)- with a slightly hearty wind. (Horrible around the second curve of the lake).

Okay, I put the Garmin on, and set forth to do a decent tempo run. 1/4 mile hard, 5 minutes of recovery. I did this 7 times, then went for a 2.5-3 mile cool down. My first and seventh 1/4 miles were not so good, but every one in between ranged from 1:30 to 1:42. This was pretty good, with the head wind throwing me around like a spaghetti noodle on some of them.

All in all, I'm glad I went out today. I figure it was about a 7 mile run in total. Good to go for today, but I did end up dragging on the final mile with a really bad pain in my knees and the right side of my groin. I think because this is my very first tempo run since college in '98, the old knees had a rough time handling a little "speed"!

Thought for the day....I like my life. I'm pretty happy with it. If I were a porcupine, I would be sad. I don't think I would ever feel comfortable just relaxing- knowing every time I go to hug a friend, they'd be full of quills...

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Tuesday's Finest...

Today I worked all day. Our 4k students are experiencing what it will be like to be kindergarteners, which means school all day...That's for today, Thursday and Friday. They always have Wednesday off, so that means I do too!

I didn't run today...I logged 0 for the day. I felt bad, because I almost think I should be running every day, but I read in RunnersWorld, that getting burnt out is not the way to go. So, hooray for a day off!

The big day is coming closer. You know, the Gary Bjorkland Half Marathon up in Duluth (don't call it Grandma's...that's the marathon!) I'm plotting out a strategy for my training in the next 4 weeks. I think I'll ask my twin brother...he's kind of a big deal in the running community!

Well, I have homework already due for this coming summer course (my first of 4 for the summer), and I best get that started since my first class is this Saturday!

Thought for the day: Fruits and vegetables are great. Eat them all the time and you'll be running...to the toilet!

Monday, May 25, 2009

Foolish??

Welcome to the World of the foolish runner...Please leave your message after the beep!

BEEP........

Okay. So I worked outside all day, planting roses, watering our yard and garden, pulling weeds (because we have over 2 trillion of them), and enjoying the wonderful weather. I knew I wasn't going to have a chance to even THINK about going for a run until after 6pm (when Randy got home from work).

Randy got home, and I got ready for a run. I was planning on a 4 mile recovery run from my long run yesterday (hey, 10 is long for me). But I had this grand idea that I was ready for some speed training, because, hey, I've worked hard at building up my endurance and didn't want to get caught in the 8:20-:30/mile comfort zone. Well, long story short...I was going for a 3 mile "power run", went out at 6:55 for my first mile...I can't believe I did that. Tony always says you need to warm up before hitting it hard. I learned my lesson after my second mile turned out to be 8:00 pace, but finished the last mile in 7:15 seconds. Okay, so I think I'm ready to have someone tell me what to do...I need a coach. Was this a foolish run??

Thought for the day...Sometimes you think you can, you think you can, you think you can...but you just can't. Those are the days you learn something.

Sunday, May 24, 2009

Long Run=Tired Legs

Running on a nice day is nice. Running on a cold day is fine. Running on a hot day after 10am is NUTS...That's what I think!

Okay, so I decided to train with my virtual partner on the Garmin. I figured, it would be nice to have someone (even though that someone is on my wrist), to push me (or slow me down...) I thought since I was going 10 miles today, I would take it a little easier than my pace at the last (and first) half marathon I ran. I set my time at an 8:30 pace.

By 7 miles, I was so hot, and my sweat glands obviously don't work on my head (since I just get red in the face and don't actually sweat there). Anyway, I saw a friend out in her driveway and said, "STACEY....AGUA POR FAVOR?"- She teaches her 4k class Spanish). Stacey ran in her house and grabbed me a glass while I jogged in place. It set me back a bit, but I was still about 50 feet ahead of my training partner at the time, that the stop seemed okay! AND I felt a little less like passing out!

By the time I rounded the lake on the last turn, and veered onto 200th, I felt like being done...I was just spent. Seconds later, the timer beeped and sang a happy tune...I had beat my training partner by a mere 5 seconds. Not that I wanted to BEAT my virtual training buddy...

Overall, this was a great run...It was a nice opportunity to get some big miles in! Tomorrow, I will go for an evening run. Probably 4 miles. Tuesday I won't run (I'll be working ALL day...our 4K kids have "kindercamp" where they'll experience the life of a kindergartener with school all day, three recesses and nap time for Tuesday, Thursday and Friday!) Wednesday will be my long run again...but I might just go 7 or 8 miles. I haven't thought about Thursday and Friday yet...we'll see....

My Thought for the day...

Are we really being positive role models allowing our children to sit in front of the t.v., buying them video games and allowing them to play them at their discretion, and allowing for computer time (of course, whenever WE'RE not on the computer)...I can't be a positive role model simply by going for runs. As a parent, I should be out in the garden with them, digging in the dirt, handing them the hand shovel, and hunting for bugs and other small creatures...without nature, children cannot thrive. Without love for the Earth, our Earth cannot thrive.

Saturday, May 23, 2009

Today is Saturday. I woke up late (around 7am), and really wanted to just stay in bed. But it would be a perfect day for a morning run, the temperature is nice already, and the wind is blowing just enough to give relief (and not blow you over!)...But I can't run this morning, because Randy is leaving for work now, and the boys can't be home alone! (of COURSE!!). Sooooooo, I'm going to think about running this morning, and just do yoga and free weights here at home.

I have a thought of the day...Do you ever wonder why the rooster crows in the early morning...do you think it's to wake you up? No, they crow because they're staking their territory, it's a testosterone thing. It's a self-serving act...and we thought they were just annoying us!